You Can Get There From Tennessee


Map courtesy of 50states.com .
.

While responding with some bit of nonsense on some blog this morning (sorry, a toothache is making me stoopid) , I looked up Tennessee in our atlas. I was surprised to find that it borders on EIGHT other states! Over half of our Canadian provinces are lined up like the Encyclopaedia Britannica on a shelf, so that each province borders a maximum of two others.

Gina lives in Tennessee. She is surrounded by:

  1. Missouri
  2. Kentucky
  3. Virginia
  4. North Carolina
  5. Georgia
  6. Alabama
  7. Mississippi
  8. and Arkansas.

When she and Cliff feel like driving into  the second state over from theirs, they can visit:

  1. Kansas
  2. Oklahoma
  3. Texas
  4. Louisiana
  5. Florida
  6. South Carolina
  7. West Virginia
  8. Ohio
  9. Indiana
  10. Illinois
  11. Iowa
  12. or Nebraska.

That’s already twice as many states as we have provinces. I just think that’s nifty!

Time to brush my teeth and head for my dentist’s appointment. Have a nice weekend!

9 Responses to You Can Get There From Tennessee

  1. jamesviscosi says:

    She must live near Springfield, where the Simpsons live! It borders Ohio, Nevada, Maine, and Kentucky …

  2. lavenderbay says:

    It’s probably also in Ohio, Nevada, Maine, and Kentucky, James! I remember taking a casual glance at the atlas a number of years ago and finding a “Springfield” in state after state. By the same token, if the Simpsons were Canadian, they would probably live in Victoria Centre and shop on King Street. The gazetteer lists a Victoria or a Victoria-Something in every province.

  3. Gina says:

    Isn’t it great! Out of those, we’ve been to every one but Georgia.
    In the second list we’ve been to Oklahoma, Texas, Louisiana, Florida (Cliff only), and Illinois (me only). We were only able to do this because of their close proximity. Cliff and I are ‘hoping’ to go to St. Louis, MO in a couple of months because Cliff’s oldest brother lives there and we will have free lodging and we want to visit their many free attractions and the arch. Too bad we’ve both already been to Misourri though.
    My mother was fortunate enough to go to Canada many years ago.

  4. lavenderbay says:

    Hi, Gina! How about Maryland? It looks like I missed that one for the outer circle.
    I’ve only been through the top tip of your country, with E.g. driving from Ontario to New Brunswick, through New York State, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine. We camped in Vermont and Maine. E.g.’s uncle also paid for us to join him in Hawaii a few years back. According to the above map, you should be able to reach Hawaii by taking a ferry from Texas. :)
    Where did your mother visit in Canada?

  5. Gina says:

    Ontario! Not exactly sure which city. She brought me back a necklace with the maple leaf on it…beautiful! I wore it to school some and some of the weird kids said, “why are you wearing a marijuana leaf necklace?” I think marijuana was big in schools then and they must have been obsessed with it. :)

  6. lavenderbay says:

    Oh, dear! High school is such a trying time. I have, though, seen mock Canadian flags with a marijuana leaf standing in for the maple.
    Maybe your mom crossed the border at Niagara Falls to see the water from our side. Look in the cedar chest for an old cushion that says “Maid of the Mist” on it. ;)

  7. Elizabeth says:

    I had the ’50 Nifty’ states song in my head for some random reason this morning. This has solidified it for me.

  8. Gina says:

    Hehe but no. She was visiting my aunt and uncle outside Flint, Michigan so it was probably near there.

  9. lavenderbay says:

    I went to Youtube to learn about the 50 Nifty States song, Elizabeth, and got trapped into watching an hour’s worth of something called the Warner Brothers and Sister (Yakko, Wakko, and Dot). My brain hurts.

    Sixty miles east of Flint is Sarnia, just over the border, so maybe that’s where she went, Gina. I haven’t been there; the closest, I think, is London.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

