The Turn-Back-The-Clock Trick

 

Turtle is getting to the age where she can start to make magic.

When I was in primary school, my classmate Bryan introduced me to a great set of books about a boy and a lady who may or may not have been a witch. Mrs Graymalkin was old, wise, and never intervened too early in Kerby’s troubles, until he learned as much as he could on his own first. I loved Scott Corbett’s “Trick” books, and admired Mrs Graymalkin. I wanted to be like her.

In my teens, my stated ambition was to grow old enough to pass from being weird to being eccentric.

Just about there now.

My first Trick, this week, was turning a magical 49 (seven times seven) the day after I turned 16.

Friday was my birthday; Thursday, I passed my driver’s test. The woman at Service New Brunswick performed magic of her own, taking my G-1 license and making the restrictive  “-1″ disappear. Poof! Now I can drive with one passenger, two or three passengers, or no passengers at all.

On Friday morning, I went down to the cellar for a few moments, and when I came upstairs, E.g., too, had pulled some magic: Poof! A largeish box, wrapped in cheery blue bug-strewn paper, sat on the coffee table.

You can see the contents in the photo above.

They’re work clothes. A lined canvas vest, a hooded jacket, sturdy painter’s pants, various upper layerings, and a thick pair of socks.

As many of you know, last autumn I did quite a lot of basic landscaping here at home. As some of you (E.g.’s family members who tune in here) may know, this summer I’ve been doing a little yardwork — pruning, painting, stump removing — for E.g.’s parents, Rose and Eddy. Eddy calls me “a dab hand with a saw”, which makes me all smiley inside.

Now I have work clothes. And a little car. And a license.

And so, for a few moments, my low-level chronic depression?

Poof! Gone.

13 Responses to The Turn-Back-The-Clock Trick

  1. Shelley says:

    Congratulations!! I told you that you could do it!!!

    Welcome to the world of the free :)

  2. lavenderbay says:

    Woo-hoo! Next stop: the Harley dealer’s! ;)

  3. Tony says:

    I thought it was going to be a post about daylight saving coming to an end in your part of the world. Silly me..

  4. Anne Gibert says:

    Happy, happy birthday, you kid, you.

  5. Wheee, what a great week! Two great achievments, a license and a birthday. One more year ahead to enjoy being 40ish. Hope it’s a year to remember in all the best ways.

    I like your work clothes, especially the stripey socks.

  6. I would like to try my hand at this turning back the clock business. Do you tutor?

  7. Alyson says:

    ANd it looks like there is a nice ‘going to lunch’ pink top to wear with yur cream pants too…great idea! Happy birthday Turtle! Hugs and kisses!

  8. eyegillian says:

    I bet even Mrs. Graymalkin didn’t get striped socks and flannel shirts on her birthday. Looking forward to seeing everything put to good use — enjoy!

  9. livingisdetail says:

    Hey, Happy Birthday to you, Lavenderbay. Great pressies with lovely purpley, mauvey accents. Congratulations on your drivers licence, too. I think eccentricity is another word for creativity.

  10. Congrats on the license!
    Can’t wait to start reading about what happens on Canadian roads!!!

  11. lavenderbay says:

    Actually, Tony, ever since the previous American president decided to extend Daylight Savings in both directions, I can’t even remember which month the time changes. Sigh.

    Twenty-three skidoo, Anne! It’s the most!

    Thanks, Barefootheart! I think the socks are scrumptious too, although the vest makes me feel very confident, which is good too.

    (Rofl) Certainly, James, hang on a sec and I’ll be right witcha!

    Thanks, Alyson! Depends how butch I’m feeling, whether the pink (or similar brown) waffle-weave top gets worn outside to show the tree design, or hidden inside as an undershirt.

    Back in the 60s, Eyegillian, Mrs Graymalkin was probably dressed more like Tweetybird’s Dwanny. The Wicked Witch of the West, though, she wore stripey socks…

    Thanks, Livingisdetail! E.g. knows my colour preferences and she’s a great clothes shopper, so yep, I’m pleased.
    You may have put your finger on the reason I’ve never wanted to forsake my weirdentricity.

    Thanks, Stephanie! What happens around here is mostly no turn signals, rolling stops, passing on solid lines, and trying to guess where the lane is after Winter has worn all the painted markings off the asphalt. But if I see anything that makes a good story, I promise to post it for you.

  12. Jayne says:

    Congratulations!
    Well done and yay for you :)

  13. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Jayne! Y’know, what’s really odd is now that the Government has told me I can drive, I’m driving better and my stress levels are plummeting. Who knew?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

