(Illustration Friday) Sir Thomas

A few weeks ago on a Wordless Wednesday post, Barefootheart told me about Illustration Fridays. On checking the link she provided, I decided an Illustration Friday feature might keep me motivated to play with my paints.

I also thought an Illustration Friday feature might get me writing again, as opposed to Wordless Wednesday, which is — well, you get the point.

By the bye, I will state up front that I have never been tempted by Facebook, Twitter, or whatever sixteen other social media have been spawned since their inception. Likewise, I never signed up on the megagigantic Wordless Wednesday list, and won’t sign up for Illustration Fridays either. Consider this your own private salon, you lucky (or at least faithful) readers!

So. When my son and his partner were here for Christmas, they gave us several thoughtful gifts. One was a field guide of North American birds, in hopes that I might use the photos as subjects for my watercolour paintings. They know I like birds.

Fast-forward to this winter’s watercolour class. Everyone in that class, with the exception of me, has been meeting to paint together for years, and they are good. I began that course intimidated and ended up dejected. While they’re all nice people, there’s something to be said for peers.

One technique I did glean from the class is to squint at the subject and paint the patches — in realistic colours or not. I decided to try it with this tom turkey, and was quite pleased with the result.

This is the version in my sketchbook. I haven’t tried making a “good” copy. Maybe someday.

Meanwhile, if you’ll excuse me, Aunt Theodora’s friends and well-wishers are throwing a 95th-birthday-party bash for her tomorrow, and I need to head upstairs to make a card. Ta for now.

11 Responses to (Illustration Friday) Sir Thomas

  1. LB, I’m delighted that you’ve embraced the challenge of Illustration Friday. I hope it will continue to inspire you. I love your turkey. The way you’ve taken the basic photo and enlived the colour and patterns is what art is all about. Best wishes to Aunt Theodora…

  2. S. Le says:

    Marv idea! Anxious to see future illustrations!

    Wild turkeys caused Art Major’s auto accident you know. I think they’re organizing!

  3. Novroz says:

    What a handsome turkey!
    I like your your sketch too…I wish I can draw.

    Eh? there is a sign up for wordless Wednesday? I didn’t know that, I don’t think I want to sign anyway

  4. Binky says:

    He’s a very colourful turkey. Though he could use a little stuffing. Sorry, turkey.

  5. Jayne says:

    He’s a handsome chappie!

  6. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Barefootheart! E.g.’s cousin Ginger e-mailed me within an hour of this entry getting posted, to encourage me too. She says her dinner guests often remark on Arthur and Guenever, And Arthur’s dragon. Words like hers and yours make me all smiley inside.

    I’d be hard pressed not to stop my car in the middle of the road to watch a sudden flight of turkeys cross my path too, S. Le! I’m sure they didn’t mean to harm your son. They’re probably still sitting around their corn kernels, feeling terribly guilty.

    The drawing is the hardest part for me, Novroz, even after taking two or three evening courses a few years ago. Once I get something drawn the way I want, the FUN part — the painting — can begin! :D

    I’m not so sure about that, Binky; he looks pretty much inflated to capacity to me. In fact, I was waiting for someone to make a Butterball quip. Maybe those stern turkey eyes stared down any such temptations.

    Isn’t he, Jayne? Wild Turkeys used to live all through the province of Ontario (where I grew up) until they were extirpated. In the 1980s, they were reintroduced, and have spread quite happily. I hope my rendition captured a bit of the stateliness and pride that I see in his photo.

  7. Anne Gibert says:

    Expressive drawing, great colors. He looks more alive than the photo.

    I’m in a drawing class where most of the people are good drawers. And it is kind of intimidating.

  8. Binky says:

    Extirpated? Is that like roasted? Sorry again, Mr. Turkey.

  9. S. Le says:

    I’m not so sure about the remorse. I think they are gloating and planning their next attack! Just wait until turkey season!

  10. Tony McGurk says:

    That’s an awesome looking Turkey & a great job of the painting of him. Michelle sometimes buys turkey wings & one wing will feed the both of us

  11. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Anne! That’s a real compliment coming from you, poultry artist extraordinaire.

    Binky. REally.

    Umm…yes, yes, S. Le, of course. Now how about trying on this nice long-sleeved coat, and we’ll go somewhere quiet so you can tell me all about it?

    Thanks, Tony! Turkeys are (as Binky implies) a good choice of meat, more meat per pound and also less fat per pound than most other animals. The turkey above, though, won’t be letting anyone stick a fork in him (got that, Binky? Sheesh.).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

