A Might To Remember

Staff finds information for another guest while E.g. opens a card.

Last night we hosted a party.

E.g. turned 50 this week, so we held a women-only potluck, what I call a hen party. Eight guests came. One was our next-door neighbour, Staff. One was Gilda, who has been E.g.’s friend for nearly 30 years. One was a woman we met at the Shrove Tuesday pancake supper two weeks ago.  I had met four of the guests less than twice.

As an introvert, I wasn’t sure how I felt about this whole thing. Turns out that most of the guests, too, self-identify as introverts. And the party was an incredible success, with connections happening all evening:

“Really? What years did you attend Acadia?”

“Oh, I know your boyfriend! He used to play with my husband’s band.”

I’m unaware of what exchange was made concerning the fact that two women brought exactly the same broccoli salad. Talk about a group of people who were destined to come together!

A daughter of the Muses.

Such beautiful women in our living room last night. Such interesting, interested, thinkers and makers and doers. Crafters, writers, teachers, musicians, gardeners, animal lovers, techies. Courageous. Authentic. Helpful. Underemployed. Still alive despite whatever personal troubles each might have endured in the course of her life.

The party began with a “tasting”. I brought from the cellar two bottles of homemade hooch — peach-banana wine and hard apple cider — and E.g. handed round some disposable shot glasses and a permanent marker so that each guest could initial her glass. I think most people opted for store-boughten after that, but at least they had had the fun of trying something different (and had avoided the embarrassment of a full glass of swill).

Voracious readers and careful thinkers.

The room was like a stand of willows in a summer breeze, as conversations shifted from side-by-side to straight-across to kitty-corner. Sometimes one speaker had everyone’s attention, the most notable example of this being the round of tales concerning car problems and the kindness of strangers. Awe-inspiring, hilarious, touching — each person’s tale was different.

The food? Fabulous. It was all there — appetizers, side dishes, meats, breads, desserts, and loads of broccoli salad — without any prior conferring.

And as if a balanced meal, instant friendships, and incredibly cute Cardigan Corgis weren’t enough, there was the Perigee Moon. We turned out the lights and watched it rise swiftly over a rooftop.

She scrapbooked a beautiful card for E.g. .

The party couldn’t have been more perfect.

It began at 6 pm, and the last guest left at eleven. E.g. and I took our time loading the dishwasher and putting away the leftovers, finally hitting the sack at midnight.

Then E.g. awoke before 05 00, threw on her winter coat over her jammies, slipped into her rubber boots, and went out to photograph the moon. Happy birthday, you crazy woman, you.

E.g.'s blogfriends, in person!

19 Responses to A Might To Remember

  1. Tony McGurk says:

    Sound like it was an enjoyable evening. I am rather introverted in social gathering settings. I’d rather just stay home than go out to gatherings but I make the effort when we are invited places as Michelle likes us to get together with friends

  2. Super Broccoli Man says:

    Eating Broccoli salad???
    Noooooooooo!!!!!!!!

  3. lavenderbay says:

    It seems to be a common trait, Tony; three of our guests admitted they had had to “make an effort” to come. Here’s a ‘toon idea for you: a meeting of IA (Introverts Anonymous) showing an empty room and the chirp of a cricket. I hope you do enjoy yourself once you and Michelle arrive at your destinations.

    Oh dear, Super Broccoli Man, didn’t Tony tell you that this blog is rated “O” (for omnivorous content)???

  4. Tony McGurk says:

    I had to use a fake email to put SBM’s comment on as I couldn’t do it without one. If I used my email it would’ve shown my Gravatar

  5. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks for pointing that out, Tony! Usually I just glance at my dashboard, which doesn’t show e-mail addresses, for new comments. I clicked on “all comments” to see SBM’s e-mail address, and also Dixie the Poodle’s. What fun!

  6. Mmm. Broccoli salad. Two servings for me, please! And I’ll try some of that peach-banana wine, too. Intriguing. Sounds like a pleasant evening and a good way to head into the next 50 years.

  7. lavenderbay says:

    The Ontario peaches this summer were droolicious, Barefootheart, so besides freezing bagfuls I made a gallon of this wine. It has a taste reminiscent of sherry; we like it.
    If I haven’t managed to alienate everyone by September, maybe I’ll have a 50th birthday party too!

  8. Novroz says:

    Happy 50th birthday to E.g :)
    Sounds like a simple and yet fun party.

    You know, those women are nicer than me…if it was me, I’m not sure I will come…I mean you’ve said that you only met them at least twice. I am not a party girl and an invitation from someone new will make me think twice to come. Thumbs up from your guests.

    Brocolli salad…yummy, This post made me want to make one.

  9. Christina Cronk says:

    a hen party, I’ve never heard of such a thing, but it sounds like a lot of fun! And a very happy birthday to EG

  10. lavenderbay says:

    The woman that we met two weeks ago was particularly brave, I think, Novroz. She’s fairly new to Saint John, and quite shy. And you’re right, there are different definitions of “party”, so you don’t always know what you’re going to find… At our party we provided alcohol, but none of us had more than one or two drinks, and a couple of us just had juice or water. Pretty tame.
    Anyway, I bet Kame and Kroten would enjoy helping you with your broccoli salad!

    It’s an older-generation term, Christina; I think I learned it from my dad. It means leaving the roosters (hubbies) at home. I did have fun at the dollar store collecting a few items for party favour bags. Each bag contained a spice bottle, a couple of bitesized tootsie rolls, a blank greeting card, a dozen safety pins…and a tiny painted clothespeg glued to a wooden hen!

  11. Binky says:

    It’s funny how many people classify themselves as introverts when they don’t come across as such online. Maybe that’s one of the reasons why we are online. Sounds like it was a nice quiet get together.

  12. lavenderbay says:

    I was saying something similar in another blogger’s comment section yesterday, Binky, about how as bloggers we can project our alter egos; I, for example, project the personality of a calm, pleasant, sane person on line.

  13. Novroz says:

    I love how Binky describe introvert with online, but I consider myself an extrovert (at least that’s what my personality test said)…but I love my online friends as much as my real-life friends.

    Hahaha…they sure will enjoy eating my broccoli…unfortunately,they aren’t allowed to eat broccoli because it contains something which is not good for turtle’s health.

  14. Raymonde says:

    You did a good job describing the party and hosting it.It was nice to meet new people.

  15. lavenderbay says:

    Turtles can’t eat broccoli? Amazing! (Although I’m sure Super Broccoli Man is heaving a sigh of relief). I’ll store that fact in my brain next to the one about green beans being bad for hamsters’ health.

    Ça nous a fait plaisir de mieux te connaître, Raymonde! We’ll get together soon for a crafting evening. :D

  16. Binky says:

    . . . And I guess I project the personality of a fuzzy little wombat.

  17. pennycat says:

    Happy Birthday EG!!! Sounds like my kind of party, wine, pets, and broccoli salad!! Yum, who could ask for anything more!!!

  18. lavenderbay says:

    The dandelion wine will come of age in June, Pennycat. Any chances of a trip to Maritime Canada this summer?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

