Laundry List, and a Game

sparrow, momentarily

Today, Tuesday, is laundry day. It’s the day Jack goes home to his mum, so the clothing left here for him has all been worn. It’s a day I need to stick around the house, to see Jack to the streetcar and see to him after school. It’s a good day for scrubbing weekend schmattas and ensuring office wear for the week.

As I was sorting the laundry this morning, I was thinking about the term “laundry list” which means a detailed enumeration. I decided that today would be good time, then, to catch up on little bits and pieces here in Blogland, mainly dealing with the delightful laundry list that is my blogroll. So without further ado, and in no particular order:

1. On April 4, Goodbear posted an interview with Seamus, my WWF Sea Turtle Stuffy. Go straight to it, or if you prefer, click on “cody bear’s friends” for compassionate, often hilarious, photos and newslets on her dog Cody and her daily life in general. She is also the mastermind of DOG DAILY PHOTO, excellent impromptu portraits of dogs she meets around town. She has a gift for capturing each pooch’s personality.

2. This past weekend, I wrote two and-a-half entries dealing with  Tommy Thompson Park on the Leslie Street SpitThemarvelousinnature has volunteered with the Bird Research Station for four or five years now. She has three entries specifically tagged for that topic: February 23, March 31, and April 2. When she isn’t taking superb photos of songbirds, she’s examining pond creatures or cattail stalks or meadow vole runways or black knot — things we’ve seen and wondered about hundreds of times, but never got around to answering our own questions about them. Themarvelousinnature might just have the answer; go check it out.

3. Another interesting post dealing with birds has just gone up on exploratorium. [Note: as of April 21, the name of her blog was changed to “The Unwound Road”.] It’s about birds that go bump in the night, and how office-tower managers and ordinary citizens might help prevent the accidental death of migratory birds. At the bottom of her article are all the links you need for further investigation of the topic. Eyegillian researches the current literature and delivers incisive, insightful surveys examining the crossroads of scientific findings and human interactions.

4. I hate to see anybody lose a contest. So when the results of the Name-and-genderize-the-sea-turtle-stuffy contest came in, I invited the six second-place winners to give me a word, and I would write a limerick using it. On my sidebar now is “Turtle’s Latest Limerick“, currently featuring one for Goodbear. I plan to post a new one on every monthday divisible by seven. I’ll also add a page to this blog with all the limericks in one place. So-o-o-o, for those of you who haven’t offered a word yet, please contact me! Eventually I’ll extend more invitations, but for now, the six second-place contest winners get top priority.

5. I’ve written a good deal about Cai, my Cardigan Welsh Corgi. If you need a more consistent Cardi fix, click over to Checkers’ World or the Yasashiikuma blog. One blog specializes in photo essays illustrating comical Cardidom from the dog’s point of view. The other examines all things Cardigan from the breeder’s point of view.

6. If you’re a cat person, or if you just need a good cry, go read The Aged Cat. Her blog’s raison d’etre recently passed away, and she hasn’t written for a couple of weeks now, but what she has posted is brilliant, beautiful, and heartbreaking. She also serendipitously created  the phrase barklove for dog people.

7. Since beginning this blog just over a month ago, I have made some friends in far places. Lately I noticed that two of them, Goodbear and Livingisdetail, comment on each other’s blogs as well as on mine. All three of us are generalists who write on various topics connected with our personal lives. Livingisdetail, for example, posts on everything from drambuie to duckponds to dumptrucks. Since one lives in the American southwest, the other in Melbourne Australia, and I in southern Ontario, I suggested to Livingisdetail that the three of us should get together for coffee in a location central to all of us — like, maybe Morocco. So-o-o-o, I have a GAME for my readers: Think of at least two other bloggers that you would like to get together with over a coffee, a tea, or a pint. (For non-blogging readers, you can choose either bloggers or acquaintances.) Check out a map or a globe. Where would you meet? Bonus question: What would you wanna talk about? Lemme know! No deadline or prize for this game, just something to think about.

 Time to fold the clothes! Thanks for sharing laundry day with me.

8 Responses to Laundry List, and a Game

  1. livingisdetail says:

    Ah, but you have already answered for me and chosen the perfect location. Maybe Bewley’s in Dublin as an alternative location or a pint in a Dingle pub. I was there in the early 90’s but hopefully it is still the mysterious, pretty little village I remember.

    I would want to talk about books, animals, inspirations, stories, food, music, living. You know the usual stuff of a good chat.

  2. goodbear says:

    nice choices, livingisdetail! dingle is lovely! but i’ve always wanted to see morocco.
    i love your blogroll, lavenderbay. glad you did this post so i would take the time to look at them. they’re great!

    ok….in addition to meeting you two ladies in morocco or ireland…
    i would like to also propose a play-date for cai, cody bear and checkers. i think cody could have a good time with two sassy corgis! i would say we all meet in upstate ny, as it isn’t too-too far for cai and checkers, and cody bear could meet some family members while in that part of the world. they could romp in corn fields.
    i bet i’ll think of more later, too.

  3. lavenderbay says:

    Sure, and Ireland is grand! I must write about the magic horses sometime.
    Haven’t been to New York (‘cept a drivethrough), but I’ve camped in Vermont and Maine. Cai sez he’s up for romping in the family cornfield.
    I’d like my fortune read in my turkish coffee cup in Morocco. (“I see you drink too much coffee.”)
    To anyone else reading this, you don’t have to pick members of my blogroll — tell me about someone on your own blogroll, and why you’d want to meet them.

  4. Checkers says:

    I’m up for a playdate! I am going to driving school this summer, I think. Should have my license by July. I am sure my owner will let me borrow the car. Of course he can come too. I will need someone to work the pedals!

  5. lavenderbay says:

    You’ll probably need your owner in case of breathalyzer tests, too, Checkers; I understand dogs aren’t too good at blowing through straws. Oh, and you might want him handling your ATM card for you, considering your math skills…

  6. lavenderbay says:

    JANE says:

    “Since I’m reading my new guidebook about the Iberian Peninsula, you could write a limerick about ‘Spain’ for me. Rhymes with lots of things and has potential in the ‘there once was a _________ from _________’ department.”

    Okay, Jane! One limerick on Spain, coming up on April 21st!

  7. themarvelousinnature says:

    Thanks for your lovely words of praise! When I started the blog I was unsure about how it would be received and followed. It’s really nice to know people are appreciating it!

    My “meeting-of-the-minds” would perhaps involve Julie Zickefoose and Drawing The Motmot, and we’d talk birds and art over tea in Illinois somewhere… or maybe A Passion For Nature and Nature Remains, and we’d talk backyard nature in Pennsylvania… or Beth’s Stories and Mary’s View and we’d talk life in New Jersey… or Rock Paper Lizard and Wanderin’ Weeta and we’d talk northwest nature in Saskatchewan… I don’t think I could narrow it down to just a pair!

  8. lavenderbay says:

    Hey, Themarvelousinnature, you should maybe rent a camper van! Something big enough to hold your camera and laptop, anyway. Then you could record the naturescapes as they change from the East Coast through to the Midwest.

Leave a Reply

