Plus Ca Change

window seat
This rocking chair, in my mum’s house, had different upholstery when I was a kid.


What day is it, boys and girls?

It’s Laundry Day!

And what do we do on Laundry Day?

We make lists!

Today I thought I’d try to find 10 things about me that are different from before I exited my teens. And maybe 10 things that haven’t changed — that way, no matter what I come up with, it can go on one list or the other. The second list is allowed to contain practices from which I at some point deviated — for example, I tried having long hair for a few years — but which never “took”.

Check out these lists for inspiration, and then try it yourself!

Ten Ways I’ve Changed Since Childhood

  1. When I was in first grade, I was afraid of being drafted into the Viet Nam war. I had to keep reminding myself that I was neither American, nor a boy. I now have no trouble remembering that I’m Canadian.
  2. I used to spread mayonnaise on white bread and eat it. Just like that. No, seriously.
  3. I used to despise disco, with its simplistic synthesizer tunes and vapid one-line lyrics (anyone remember “Fly, Robin, Fly”?). Now I enjoy its silly, happy light-heartedness.
  4. Blue used to be my favourite colour. Now green is. Or maybe purple. Or a good deep pink. And oatmeal is nice and so’s oxblood, and then there’s gamboge, viridian, cobalt, or how about brindle, blue merle, liver, chestnut?
  5. I don’t fall and skin my knees nearly so much.
  6. I wasn’t able to play any instrument requiring the independent action of more than two fingers. Now I can play the recorder!
  7. In my teens, I enjoyed sweet, creamy poisons like Pink Ladies and Grasshoppers. Now I’m happiest with a pint of ale.
  8. In my teens, I had a prejudice against business people. Now I count several of that species among my closest friends.
  9. I used to love the Autumn. Now I like every season.
  10. I used to dislike parsnips and rutabaga. Now I like them just fine.

Ten Ways I Haven’t Changed Since Childhood

  1. I still pick up worms off rainy sidewalks and move them to safety.
  2. I still say hello to sparrows, chipmunks, cowslips, toadstools…
  3. I still have short hair.
  4. I still love to write stories.
  5. I still love marshes and woods and other creaturely habitats.
  6. When I was little, I preferred singing in church to sitting in Sunday School. Still do.
  7. When I was about 5, Mummy gave me a peeled clove of garlic just to sniff. I ran all over the house with it! I still love the aroma.
  8. I wasn’t able to even turn the ropes for double-dutch skipping. Still can’t.
  9. I always preferred stuffed animals to baby dolls. I still prefer animals to human babies.
  10. I still prefer salty and savoury foods to sweet.

I know, this entry has been a thrill a minute. But at least you now know more about me than my “about” page will ever tell you.

13 Responses to Plus Ca Change

  1. goodbear says:

    ok, ….i did the mayonnaise and bread thing, as well. now the thought of it turns my stomach! though your blog post didn’t. i always loved my stuffed animals more than dolls. they all had names and were in little families. and, ….oh still prefer animals to human babies, also!

    good lists!

  2. eyegillian says:

    But you left out the part about how worms think you’re a goddess and sprinkle tiny bouquets of rich hummus at your feet in homage and sing anthems of praise as you pass, in gratefulness for your deific benevolence. Oh… you didn’t want me to mention it… too modest, I understand… oops, too late!

    And I love the image of you running around the house in garlic glee!

  3. lavenderbay says:

    You did the mayo thing too, Goodbear! It’s a wonder any of us survive childhood. Not too surprised that you agree with me on the animals versus humans thing.

    Thank you, Eyegillian, for your description of earthworm homage. It’s nice to know that someone gives a poop about me!

  4. Shelley says:

    I don’t know….sounds like your pretty normal to me 🙂 Or hold on…maybe we’re BOTH a little off center.

    I still have the stuffed animal collection ..or as Chris calls them – the damned Teddy Bears.

  5. goodbear says:

    i cherished the animals i had,…but there’s a limit: my roommate freshman year passed the limit. she showed up with 96 STUFFED ANIMALS the first day at our dormitory. she left after freshman year, known as the girl with the stuffed animals…and i was the girl who lived with her.

  6. lavenderbay says:

    Cardi people are a distinctive breed, Shelley. 🙂

    NINETY-SIX STUFFED ANIMALS????? What was she studying — taxidermy?

  7. goodbear says:

    ha! no…accounting….

  8. lavenderbay says:

    I guess they’re cuter to count than beans.

  9. That is a lot of color. Most of those colors I have to look up. Except liver, I know what that looks like.

    Great list though. That is a lot of things… Ale… Ha ha ha… What are Pink Ladies? How sexy is she and where can I find one?

  10. lavenderbay says:

    Pink Ladies? You don’t wanna go there, Urban Thought! You find someone who likes those, chances are she’ll be a nostalgic granny who watched Saturday Night Fever when it first hit the cinemas, or a minor.

  11. Hmmm… I’ll take your word on it and keep it moving. Thx for the info. 🙂

  12. TheAgedCat says:

    Your lists are great! I love the image of you running around with a clove of garlic, probly making everybody else sniff it too.

    Never did the mayo thing, myself. I was a swiss cheese & mustard girl. That’s all. Just swiss cheese and mustard.

  13. lavenderbay says:

    Mmm, mustard! At least you added some cheese for a bit of protein, Aged Cat! Glad you liked the post.

Leave a Reply

