Paris, Day 9: Seamus’s Day Out

The Arc de Triomphe has a very nice carapace.

I had a lovely lunch on the Champs-Elysees.

I kept my own carapace out of the way of this oversized scooter.

I took a leisurely swim in the Seine…

… and then dried off on a Bateaux-Mouches tour. Here, I’m admiring Notre-Dame-de-Paris Cathedral.

On the way home, I HAD to have my picture taken with Georges Clémenceau. I didn’t know he was Prime Minister during World War I, and called for peace as soon as he was elected (1917). I just thought he looked like a nice man who enjoyed going for walks — like I do!

4 Responses to Paris, Day 9: Seamus’s Day Out

  1. Mutual friend Jane says:

    A swim in the Seine? Brave Seamus! I hope you kept your head firmly inside your carapace and swallowed no river water.
    All in all, you seem to be having a fab time.

  2. jamesviscosi says:

    From this angle, Mr. Clemenceau looks a little bit like the Gorton’s Fisherman!

  3. goodbear says:

    i love the arc picture. glad seamus had such a good day.

  4. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, friends! It’s really been a blast.

    As I respond to your comments, we’re all packed and in the living room, ready to head for the metro to the airport. We’ve decided to wait for a flight west, rather than go back through Frankfurt. Wish us luck! Mum and I walked the Promenade Plantee to Parc Vincennes and checked out the Chateau yesterday, while the others strolled Montmartre. Both groups were very content over their excursions, but Mum has a film camera and I don’t have any, so I haven’t decided yet how to put together Day 10.
    PS The Durufle concert was FABULOUS!!!!!

Leave a Reply

