The Secret of South Village Forest

The week I spent in South Village, 500 miles from home, caring for my ailing cousin, was the most terrible week of my life. Not because of my cousin’s needs, but because of a local character, Maxine Fang. The folk in and around South Village called her Mad Maxine. The less they were willing to talk about her, the more my curiosity burned.


So one evening, as she took her dogs for a walk, I followed her. Fey creatures they were, one like a fox, the other like a masked wolf, but with dwarfed legs as though they were steeds for pixies.


Suddenly Maxine stopped, and addressed the wolf-like one. “What is it, boy? What’s wrong?”


Indeed, both dogs appeared acutely distressed.


It was then that I noted the rising moon, and realized…


These were Were-Corgis!  Had they sensed my presence?


They had.


As the Were-corgis lunged towards me, I started to call to their owner for help, but the cry strangled itself in my throat…


…for Mad Maxine was one of them! She howled to the sky — and all went black.


The next thing I knew, there were two ordinary dogs in front of me. Standing just behind them was Maxine Fang. “You’re Tabitha’s cousin, aren’t you?” she was asking. “Why don’t you finish your walk with us? We’ll make sure you get home safely. The woods can be a bit spooky sometimes, but you’re all right.”


Mad Maxine pointed the way. I was all right, she said… but did I or did I not hear her add, under her breath: “For now” ?

=====

Written and directed by: Lavenderbay.

Starring: E.g. as Mad Maxine; Cai and Fergus as the Were-corgis.

Shot on location in High Park, Toronto, on the off-leash walking path.

13 Responses to The Secret of South Village Forest

  1. jamesviscosi says:

    Very spooky! I have a werewolf novel simmering on my back burner at the moment but it doesn’t go anything like this! 😉

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Beautifully written and I can’t wait for a sequel. Must go check the Were-Beagle & Mala-Wolf for any signs of odd(er) behavior.

  3. lavenderbay says:

    Your version is different, James, probably in that you’re not planning to subtitle your novel, “A Study in Creative Reclamation of Amateur Flash Photos”. When I borrow E.g.’s camera, I always use the JPeg settings so as not to stuff my hard drive with downloaded RAW images. The camera uses the flash on most of the JPeg photos I take, including these outdoor ones, shot while it was raining. The fifth photo above was the second photo in my set of seven dozen awful pictures, so the werewolf story idea immediately presented itself.

    I wasn’t thinking in terms of a sequel, Elizabeth, just a wicked wink at the end of this story, but I can see how it lends itself to a Part Next.
    I would suggest you keep especially close watch on Mabel. Were-Beagles are particularly evil, being little dogs with guileless faces, who suddenly run off into the woods for two days, and no one knows what they’ve been up to.

  4. Alyson says:

    You gotta watch those Were Corgi’s, man, they will lick you alive!! Aaarghhhh!
    Brought to you by Travelcalm. :*

  5. lavenderbay says:

    I’m not afraid of Were-Corgis, are — are — aroooo!

  6. Gina says:

    Scary and hairy tale! Very creative!

  7. lavenderbay says:

    It sure was fun putting it together, Gina!

  8. livingisdetail says:

    Ah, there is a bit of the werewolfie in every good and noble doggy. So funny.

  9. lavenderbay says:

    It’s true, Livingisdetail. Back in the days when people in the country didn’t always tie up their dogs, my dad could often be heard muttering, “Were is that damn dog now?!” and I naively thought he was merely wondering where it was.

  10. oh so creative… did you plan that out prior to going out or was it something that you thought of after looking over the photos?

  11. lavenderbay says:

    As is hinted at in the comments, Urban Thought, I had set out to take some nice pictures of our nice afternoon with our nice doggies in the nice park. While the park and the doggies succeeded in the “nice” department, the weather and my pix did not. When I got home and saw the second photo with the white-eyed flash-victim dogs, I laughed and said, “Oh, no! It’s Were-Corgis!” Then I looked at the other 118 photos, and chose ones here and there to put together the photo-comic. I’m glad you liked it.

  12. livingisdetail says:

    LOL, still funny LB. The glowing eyes are just perfect for ‘wereness’. Looking again, that was a big tree across the path – I wonder if it was left there as an overpass for were-squirrels and the like?

  13. lavenderbay says:

    It was probably waiting for the were-groundskeepers to come back with their were-chainsaws on a were-Tuesday, Livingisdetail, but thanks for clearing something up for me. If the squirrels around here morph into something that needs that size of overpass, no wonder dogs bark at them!

Leave a Reply

