Bleah

Feeling yucky. Looked at my own blog for only a few minutes this morning, then shut off the computer. Tummy yesterday, head today. Slept and read and slept and read except for the half-hour I was out at the dentist’s to get my permanent crown. Th-th-th-th-that’s all folks.

I told E.g. I wasn’t gonna have a blog entry today, and she whipped out the camera so all I would have to write were a few words to explain the photo. A good partner is hard to find — but I’ve somehow ended up with one. Good night.

(PS: I will discreetly ignore the fact that E.g. entitled the above photograph “Pity Me” . )

16 Responses to Bleah

  1. Alyson Hill says:

    Awww, I love photos like this, keeping it real and cosy. Hope you feel better soon and your new crown doesn’t reject your mouth.

  2. lavenderbay says:

    I never thought of that, Alyson! It would be SO not butch if I had to trade in the crown for a tiara, wouldn’t it?

  3. Shelley says:

    Now you know its just a reaction to that polluted city air after clearing out your lungs for period you got rid of the coating so that the germs could infest you 😉

    Doesn’t that sound logical?

    Hope you feel better real quick!

  4. goodbear says:

    hope you feel better! sucks to come off such a nice trip to puppy and horseville and return to feeling cruddy.

  5. Alyson says:

    Yeah, I reckon a tiara would cut your gums up too much. You don’t need that.

  6. lavenderbay says:

    That sounds perfectly logical, Shelley; or, just as logically, I’ve been squashed back into shape after getting decompressed at your place, 1500 feet higher above sea level than is Toronto.

    Yeah, Goodbear, and my own pooches didn’t have anything more exciting than potty breaks yesterday. I’ll see if I can get them over to the dog park this morning.

    What I can’t figure out, Alyson, is people who get entire bridges in their mouths. Although that might be a good diet aid, if all junk food had to pay toll.

  7. TheAgedCat says:

    “Is Sex Necessary?”– certainly not when you feel like hurling!

    Hope you’re feeling much better!

  8. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Aged Cat, I am feeling better today.
    Thurber co-wrote Is Sex Necessary? with E.B. White who, in my mind, is the Father of modern grammar (as in the Strunk and White handbook) . Makes me want to read it just to see what his answer is, grammarians being right up there with librarians in the reputation-for-sexiness department.

  9. livingisdetail says:

    I am glad to read above that you are feeling better. 🙂 Keep relaxing though. Lots of good reading and warm snuggly blankets always strengthens the immune system. Alternatively, the diagnosis could be withdrawal from the company of horses. It’s true. It is a well known leurgy that has struck me down many a time. 😉

  10. lavenderbay says:

    Horse withdrawal may be a well-known leurgy, Livingisdetail, but “leurgy” is not a well-known term to me — this is the first I’ve heard of it. Googling it produced several quotes of people suffering one leurgy or another, but no definition of the term.

  11. jamesviscosi says:

    If you must be sick, at least you have a cozy papasan to do it in. Hope you feel better soon!

  12. livingisdetail says:

    I love that word though. It sounds so arcane and like someone was all blocked up and flu-struck.

  13. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, James, and yes, the papasan is terrific when one’s tummy is made unhappier by one’s lying down. And I am feeling better; yesterday I didn’t collapse in a snoozy heap until 3.

  14. lavenderbay says:

    Livingisdetail, would you cure the leurgy by enjoying a Bundaberg Concerto at too high a volume?

  15. livingisdetail says:

    Hee, hee. Nah, never touch the stuff. Well, not Bundi Rum anyway. Maybe a crisp Verdelho or Semillon Sauvignon Blanc.

  16. lavenderbay says:

    “Don’t follow the lights…”
    Whaddaya mean, why am I responding at 01 45 local time? Because the fire alarm went off. E.g. is making a little chamomile tea to entice dreams back into our jangled noggins. At least the animals have settled back down, although with such short memories, they’re probably looking at us and wondering, “What’s everybody up for?” It was a fun twenty-five minutes while it lasted.

Leave a Reply

