Blogless Busyday


“Shadowfax, who has been my friend this many a year.”

Hi, friends. I think we need to have a day called Busyday. I know a lot of you have been having them lately. I didn’t think today was one, but it suddenly is, and I fear I won’t have any more time at the computer today. So while I’ve caught up with your blogs (everyone’s but the Right Blue and The Marvelous in Nature), I wasn’t worrying about composing. A word from Gandalf:

Three hundred lives of men I have walked the earth, and suddenly I have no time.

You’ve all been there.

Back tomorrow, I hope! Wags and purrs and smiles to you all.

9 Responses to Blogless Busyday

  1. Alyson says:

    Oh yes, I most certainly have. Your words (and Gandalf’s) make perfect sense on a day like this month. 🙂

  2. Take your break. Take your time. I took weeks. You can have a day. I know how that is as you said. And thx for the warm welcome back.

    May today be better than yesterday but not quite as good as tomorrow.

  3. lavenderbay says:

    You were one, Alyson, Urban Thought was another, Livingisdetail and Checkers’s personal assistant two more, who have been crazy-busy lately. Your clever comment reminds me of a quote from Garfield, the cartoon cat: “It’s been one of those days all week.”

    I think writing really is my vocation, Urban Thought (as opposed to employment — you can ask James Viscosi and Alyson how much they’ve netted from being published authors 🙂 ) . Besides, I haven’t had a black day on my sidebar calendar since I began on February 29th. What I feel guilty about is when I don’t catch up on my reading of my fellow bloggers’ work. I don’t want to take time off from writing.
    Thank you for the warm birthday wishes! There used to be a store where you could buy rings bearing that phrase, in French: “Plus qu’hier, moins que demain.” A very proper attitude to take in one’s middle years, n’est-ce pas?

  4. Shelley says:

    Only all week??

    We must form the “poverty writers guild” 🙂 I’m published in magazines a few times…never seen a cent for it!

    And Happy Birthday AGAIN!

  5. jamesviscosi says:

    Just as long as you’re back in time to save those of us who are holed up at Helm’s Deep!

  6. jamesviscosi says:

    Oh, by the way, I’ve calculated how much I’ve netted as a published writer … let’s see … divide DIDDLEY by SQUAT … carry the one … round up … and we come out with, not a whole lot!

  7. Elizabeth says:

    I feel like I need a blog-cation. I’m having writers block.
    Happy Birthday to you!

  8. Gina says:

    Happy Birthday. We’re near the same age…and IQ. 😀

  9. lavenderbay says:

    Good idea, Shelley, and I like your acronym — with the three-syllable double-u in the middle, it sounds lengthy and important. Mind you, read by a Welsh person, it might be pronounced “Poog”, which loses the authoritative ring a bit…

    Hint: there’s a back entrance through the root cellar in the Glittering Caves.

    Come, now, James, you’ve published entire novels! As in plural, so SOMEBODY must like your work, so you must have gotten some royalties, so it must work out to at least eleven cents an hour. Of course, when you deduct the extra coffee money (since you have to write when you’re not at your day job) … oh, well. Thanks for corroborating my point that writing is a vocation.

    Thanks, Elizabeth! And I hope you get unblocked soon. Does Alex appreciate the cooler Autumn weather?

    Thanks, Gina! From reading your “About” page, I suspected we were currently in the same decade. In our prime. 😉

Leave a Reply

