Celtics in the Mist


“Sure, and it’s time to be laying in the peat for the winter.”

I took this photo a couple of days ago, the morning after the latest hurricane had dumped the latest tankerful of water onto the property. Brogan, the four-month-old Irish Wolfhound puppy, and Libby, the eleven-month-old Cardigan Welsh Corgi, were playing tug with a length of broken clothesline (I broke it two weeks ago) hanging from the top of the pole. They were romping and having a great time, so I grabbed the camera.

Not wanting to disturb them by my sudden appearance, I snapped the photos through a post-shower bathroom window. This one is my favourite. The clothesline isn’t too visible; instead, I think it looks like two longstanding Celtic friends, stopping to enjoy the gift of gab on an early misty morning.

Going home tonight. Tomorrow, a new adventure: Turtle flies!

8 Responses to Celtics in the Mist

  1. You’ve captured a great moment. Always appreciated the stories that go with your photos.

  2. jamesviscosi says:

    Very sweet (and green) picture!

  3. pennycat says:

    Cool Picture!

  4. Gina says:

    Aww They’re precious and having a blast. I used to watch sparrows feeding their babies in the hollow end of our clothesline post. It was a wonderful sight to behold.

  5. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Urban Thought, James, and Pennycat! I think my writing abiliy surpasses my photographic skills, so it’s good to know that the accompanying stories are appreciated. And yes, after this summer’s record rainfall, Shelley’s backyard is very green — including the various species of froggies bounding through the puddly bits at the lower end of the property!

    I bet you were loath to hang out the laundry for those few weeks, Gina! What a great opportunity for observation.

  6. Alyson says:

    Fiddle dee dee p’taters!

  7. lavenderbay says:

    I didn’t know you speak Gaelic, Alyson!

  8. Great photo! You sure captured an interesting atmosphere!

    I have an Irish wolfhound too – they are very special dogs. If you are interested in a great story about him and seeing some good photos please visit:

    http://loveubecause.com/2009/01/08/loveubecause-youre-from-a-picture-in-a-magazine/

    If like what you read, please share the links with your friends.

    Enjoy!

    “A”

Leave a Reply

