Thirteen Things in as Many Minutes

autumn suspended

It’s a quarter after ten — pm, not am — so I really need to either post something NOW or miss a day for the first time since I started.

I’m sad today. Oh, my own life is fine for once; it’s just everyone around me who’s having a hard time of it. One friend has just been downsized out of her job; another has just learned that her husband has cancer; another got stung by a scorpion, of all things; another has just returned home from her uncle’s funeral. Sad stuff everywhere around me, as though I’m a buoy in a sea of troubles.

It’s hard to concentrate with all of that going on. It’s hard to decide whether to write something sad, or consoling, or silly. So I’m going to take a page from Gina’s blog and make a list of 13 thoughts. And hey, this being laundry day, a list makes perfect sense. Okay, go.

  1. Cai and Fergus are playing together right now. I love to see them chase each other and play tooth hockey.
  2. I was warmly welcomed by E.g.’s parents while I was in Saint John; I felt very relaxed and comfortable in their home.
  3. The four of us went for an afternoon walk each day we were there, a different park or waterfront every day, and all within a ten minute’s drive.
  4. One day E.g. and I saw a deer and heard a loon at the same time, one block from her parents’ home. The word “suburb” has a different meaning in Saint John than in Toronto.
  5. On the flight back, the view over Saint John was full of trees and lakes, sprinkled with houses; the view over Toronto was gridded and orange like a half-burnt log, embers as far as the eye could see.
  6. The sirens are wailing down the street. I don’t think a day goes by around here that I don’t hear them at least once.
  7. I spoke to my brother and his wife tonight. They’re hoping that we’ll come up for Thanksgiving. That would be nice.
  8. I sat down and played the piano for a few minutes one day at E.g.’s parents’ place. It was mostly songs I had composed when I was about 12; they suddenly all came back to me. I hadn’t thought about them for a while.
  9. I’m finding coming up with 13 thoughts difficult.
  10. The Bible verse going around in my head right now is Matthew 23:37 : “Jerusalem, Jerusalem, the city that kills the prophets and stones those who are sent to it! How often have I desired to gather your children together as a hen gathers her brood under her wings, and you were not willing!” (NRSV) The “prophet” in question is the woman who was downsized out of her job, and “Jerusalem” is her workplace. It’s just sad.
  11. The dryer has stopped. It plays a little tune like a tin soldier’s march, in a voice like an electronic greeting card.
  12. Very late now. The dogs are asleep for the night.
  13. I will drop over to E.g.’s Flickr page for a few moments, and find a photo to illustrate this entry. Good night, all.

12 Responses to Thirteen Things in as Many Minutes

  1. I’m intrigued by your description of the tune that dryer makes. Mine makes such a god-awful, loud buzz that I always try my best to intercept it before it goes off.

    Bobbie

  2. goodbear says:

    i’m sorry so many of your friends are down. don’t worry about me and my scorpion bite. i’m all better now and it was a total learning experience. a successful natural remedy experience as well.
    so….a list ….of thirteen. well here are thirteen words that pop into my head when i think of your blog:
    1. clever
    2. funny
    3. thoughtful
    4. appreciative
    5. dedicated
    6. gentle
    7. corgis
    8. creative
    9. peaceful
    10. emotive
    11. friends
    12. birds
    13. observant

    oh, that was easy, i think i could keep going!

  3. lavenderbay says:

    It’s a fairly small pair of Maytags, Bobbie. They also burble merrily when the power button is pushed. The sound sold me on them as much as anything.

    Aww, thanks, Goodbear! I should frame that comment for future reference whenever I’m feeling blue. I’m glad you’re over the scorpion sting; and you’re right, of course, better you than wondering what the heck Codybear had tangled with and not knowing how to deal with it. Still, though — nasty critters…

  4. jamesviscosi says:

    I like the picture of the leaves. Our dryer also makes a horrible squawk, as does the washing machine. If I happen to be in the garage when they go off and I’m not expecting it, I almost have a heart attack.

  5. Gina says:

    I love your thirteen thoughts. I had to giggle at the phrase tooth hockey. That describes it so well. Tuffy has no other dog who will play with him (Mandy is too old) so he plays tooth hockey with my hand. He loves it though. Coming up with 13 thoughts was difficult for me too…especially around number 7 or 8.

  6. Gina says:

    The leaves under water picture is very interesting.

  7. lavenderbay says:

    James and Gina, E.g.’s photo is in her set called “dull grey days” on her Flickr site. She actually took it in the Spring a couple of years ago, which means the leaves had weathered over the winter, further enhancing that trodden-upon feeling. Perfect for this entry.

    James, my mum’s machines make that kinda noise too, and I haaaaaate it. I’m easily enough dissuaded from doing housework without that kind of added motivation!

    The clacking of the teeth make me think of hockey sticks vying for the puck, Gina, except there’s no puck. I’m glad you and Tuffy have worked out a way to play.
    I guess the 13 Things experiment results suggest that five or more pressing items demands a written to-do list. Now we know!

  8. Alyson says:

    I’d like that picture on my wall. Or on the cover of a book I might write – a wildly successful one, no wait, a successful WILD one. It’s terrible but I’d love to hear Goodbears story of her scorpio bite – is a scorpio bite like a sting, a burn, an ache…those things are scary! I’ve just left a place where the sad things were all around me, maybe I can break the string for you too cause it’s Spring in Murrumbateman, inside and out: a new beginning!

  9. lavenderbay says:

    I’m sure E.g. can oblige your book cover, Alyson!
    Goodbear has written a pretty good account of her scorpion incident. You can read it here: http://starcraving.wordpress.com/2008/09/26/when-arthropods-attack-after-a-fashion/
    I’m glad things are looking up for you. Which one of us is going to write the next hit single, “Springtime in Murrumbateman” ?

  10. Alyson says:

    Murrumbateman is almost a whole line of a limerick on its own!

  11. lavenderbay says:

    And it’s Springtime in Murrumbateman
    ‘Cause the horse has returned to the porch;
    Don’t ask for strawbs — the cockies ate them…

    Not sure about the last line.

  12. Alyson says:

    “But we might find some with a torch”? M’eh…. What about you in the back??

Leave a Reply

