What a Sasquatch Eatsch for Breakfascht (Final contest limericks)


How Others Perceive Your Pet.

Well (puff, puff, pant) hi, every-(wheeze)-body… I think I’m home for a moment. What with feeding horses and visiting other provinces, I realize I’ve been absent fifteen days this month! I’m hoping to have two synapses to rub together soon. But meanwhile…

Goodbear has not received her limerick yet. Today is the day!

I wrote Goodbear’s limerick while on the plane headed for Saint John. You can see the original manuscript in the photo above. Then today, I pulled off another neat trick, that of incorporating all five of your limerick words into one pithy, narrative gem. (Okay, I’m not usually so self-congratulatory, but I’ve been wiping up puppy spluts every ten minutes since yesterday afternoon, so please go easy on me. )

Goodbear wanted a limerick on “pickles”, which I took to mean her Border Collie cross puppy, Pickles. One thing that stands out for me is how Pickles loves the “relaxed look”; quite a few of Goodbear’s photos have shown Pickles with muddy feet or bits of grass sticking in her fur, and her coat all unkempt — reminds me of my preschool years.

The second limerick uses “pickles” (transitive verb, 3d person singular, “he/she/it pickles”) in its past participle form. Groovy? Let’s go!

I. The Pickles limerick, for Goodbear.

  • That field-romping collie pup, Pickles,
  • Has one task against which she stickles.
  • When the bath water flows,
  • Then away she tiptoes.
  • She prefers wearing products of sickles.

 

II. The cumquat/jumble/leprechaun/pickles/Sasquatch limerick, for Alyson, Jack’s Mom, Jack, Goodbear, and Livingisdetail.

  • With a leprechaun’s silence on last watch,
  • Herbert waited for signs of the Sasquatch.
  • It at last, through a jumble
  • Of ferns, with a rumble,
  • Approached — on its toascht, pickled cumquatsch!

 

That was fun. Now I’ll have to start thinking about those several-hundred-word-topic prizes, but not until after I’ve taken Fergus to the vet. See you later!

10 Responses to What a Sasquatch Eatsch for Breakfascht (Final contest limericks)

  1. Alyson says:

    I like it – I had a friend when I was a teenager who had a schpeescht impedchiment loike that – all the boysch thought sche wasch scho cute!

    And I love the photo of your process – I love seeing other people’s thought process! You just don’t get that kind of information anymore.

  2. PennyCat says:

    Fantastic!

  3. lavenderbay says:

    Some girls have all the luck, Alyson.
    Yeah, computers are pretty lousy doodle machines. I’ve learned to input directly for longer prose pieces, but still prefer pen and paper for poems or the odd creative, twisted sentence.

    Thanks, PennyCat! Limericks are kinda like haiku, only… funner.

  4. jamesviscosi says:

    Very Lewis Carroll-esque!

  5. goodbear says:

    excellent doodles! i’m a huge fan of the graph paper, myself.
    great limericks!

  6. lavenderbay says:

    I hadn’t thought about that, James, but yeah, the Victorians certainly loved their nonsense words. Thanks for the compliment!

    Thanks, Goodbear! Maybe we should found the SPGP, the Society for the Preservation of Graph Paper.

  7. Gina says:

    I love Pickles’ limerick…it describes her perfectly.

  8. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Gina! I think it’s always fun to personalize (dogalize? ) a bit, if at all possible.

  9. Checkers says:

    I love the Cardi sketch!

  10. lavenderbay says:

    Oh, my goodness, I see what you mean, Checkers! It was my impression of Pickles to inspire me for her limerick; but that long body and those itty-bitty legs — I guess I see everything through Cardigan glasses now!

Leave a Reply

