Passover Mode

from the air

And thus shall ye eat it: with your loins girded, your shoes on your feet, and your staff in your hand; and ye shall eat it in haste; it is the LORD’s passover. — Exodus 12:11, King James Version.

Things were moving; no one knew exactly when, but it was time to flee. At any moment the signal might come. Leave this land. Oh, it has its charms, like potsful of stew and fresh cucumbers everywhere you look, but it has its dangers too. With the surfeit of food comes maggots.

Besides, it’s not your home. Leave this land. Start over. Start over in the land to be given you; you won’t recognize it, but it will be more your own than this one has ever been.

Be ready, for Death is coming even now. Pray that it will pass over you.

Be ready. Get your shoes on, tuck up your clothing so you won’t trip, hold onto your walking stick. No lollygagging, no dawdling. Hold your head up; watch for the beacon, listen for the call. Look alive.

9 Responses to Passover Mode

  1. Shelley says:

    Hmmm….wrong holday 🙂 Passover is in APRIL, Rosh Hashanah starts tonight.

  2. lavenderbay says:

    LOL, Shelley! I wasn’t expecting there to be any particular holiday just now. I was just describing my mood. And no, I’m not actually standing while eating my meals… but I’ve packed three boxes of non-essentials so far.

  3. And as Ford Prefect would say, don’t forget your towel.

  4. I understand what you meant by Passover — but I cheated since I read our post of the 28th first. A term I like to use to represent this sort of passage is “phase change” – a term borrowed from physics and used metaphorically, of course.

    Best wishes to you and E.g. as you proceed.

    Bobbie

  5. That was supposed to have been “I read YOUR post of the 28th first.”

  6. lavenderbay says:

    Two towels — as often as I can spare them!” Oh, wait, I’m getting some interference from LOTR.

    Thanks, Bobbie! And I appreciate someone who catches typos!
    I like that phrase. It should be easy to remember when I think of our current neighbourhood: “Ma’am, could you spare some phase change?”

  7. Gina says:

    I also cheated and read this post after you explained it. I’m glad I didn’t comment yesterday…no telling what I would’ve come up with. 🙂

  8. Gina says:

    Oh I love the “out the plane window” shot! Very abstract with lovely colors.

  9. lavenderbay says:

    That’s okay, Gina; this entry was pretty much a case of there being no telling what I might come up with!
    E.g. took several great shots from the plane on her last trip to her folks’ place, but only this one had those condensation spots or whatever they are; I thought it gave the photo a nice dreamlike quality.

Leave a Reply

