Turtle Wins the Tartar Plaque!

Okay, I made that up. It’s not even a very funny dentistry joke because, as I learned today, plaque is the soft stuff that regular brushing and flossing can remove, while tartar is the same stuff after it’s hardened. Prize-type plaques should be solid and hard to chip, like dental tartar, not gross and gooey, like dental plaque.

But never mind that. What I did receive was this, from Dennis the Vizsla:

Dennis passed this award along to eight other bloggers besides me. Three of those recipients are also members of my blogroll. If I were to subtract them and  Dennis, there would be twelve blogs left on my roll. Of those twelve, four blogs are currently dormant. That leaves eight blogs.

So, shoot, never mind the formalities: I’m passing on my award to TOUT LE GANG ! Everybody!

And if that sounds a bit flippant, please look at it this way:

I read slowly. I subvocalize. So if I’m going to put that much time and effort into any reading material, it’s got to be good. It has to be well written, carefully edited, deep, observant, informative, funny, warm, sweet — not all of those things together, maybe, but at least two or three of them.

  • I won’t read most popular novels because they’re not well written. I like your blogs better than Stephen King.
  • I won’t read the business section of the paper because it’s so cold. I like your blogs better than Dilbert.
  • I won’t read most magazines because they’re so vapid. I like your blogs better than Cosmopolitan, Good Housekeeping, or the Vegetarian Times.

So please, blogfriends, if your blog is not already decorated with one of these happy little I-Love-Your-Blog awards, be my guests.

And now I’m off to read my Elections Canada workbook on how to be a poll clerk. Wish me luck.

9 Responses to Turtle Wins the Tartar Plaque!

  1. eyegillian says:

    Well, as an official representative of the dormant dormice, I accept the award with gratitude. I like the idea of being better than Dilbert, but are we better than Savage Chicken? Inquisitive slightly twisted minds want to know!

    You decide: http://www.savagechickens.com.

  2. livingisdetail says:

    Congratulations from another dormant who is always nicking off but still thinks of her bloggy mates and their good company. And pass on a congrats to Fergus too on his rite of passage. He’s growing into quite the young gentleman.

  3. lavenderbay says:

    You’re welcome, Eyegillian! I hope you’ll find some psychic space to start writing again.
    Savage Chickens? Hmmm… nah. The blogs are better; but SC is better than Dilbert.

    Thanks, Livingisdetail! It looks as though the sprites have released you long enough to visit the comments sections, at least; are they planning something for All Hallow’s Eve?

  4. hello lavenderbay its dennis the vizsla dog hay i thawt tartar was the sawse that yoo put on fried fish i had no ideea it wuz mayd frum the scrapings off peepuls teeth!!!!! blechhh!!!!! ok bye

  5. lavenderbay says:

    That’s why you should always read the ingredient list, Dennis! Next time, just use a little salt and malt vinegar.

  6. livingisdetail says:

    Lol. Oh no! I forgot about Halloween. I’d better stay home with a good book and ignore any teeny tiny invitations slipped under my door.

  7. lavenderbay says:

    I would if I were you! 😀

  8. Tartar plaque?!? Is that some kind of a dentition rendition?

    (You know I only get to say things like that in the comments of this blog…)

    Bobbie

  9. lavenderbay says:

    Uh-oh, Bobbie, are you a rhymester too?
    Your word “rendition” made me think of the word “revue” and suddenly I had a very silly picture of medieval Eurasian soldiers on a stage. I think they must have been doing steppe dancing.

Leave a Reply

