A Saturday Survey

E.G. has borrowed Robert’s career transition guidebook and is working her way through the self-knowledge exercises. I haven’t looked through the book yet. Having the suckiest job history on the planet, I don’t like to unnecessarily subject myself to depressing questionnaires. So today I will just start with the following meme that I stole from Dennis the Vizsla, to whit:

The Seven-By-Seven Questionnaire

…except that I’m leaving off #7, which is to tag other bloggers, and so it’s really:

The Seven-By-Six Questionnaire

…except that I can’t think of a seventh item for any of the lists, so I guess it’s…

The Six-By-Six Questionnaire

 

I. Six things I plan to do before I die.

  1. move to Saint John New Brunswick
  2. own a backyard with attached house
  3. have neighbours over for Celtic-style jam sessions
  4. visit the other Atlantic provinces
  5. learn another language (Gaelic? Latin? a First Nations tongue?)
  6. write a book of short stories (that’s “dream of”, not “plan to”)

II. Six things I do now.

  1. discard our useless stuff, and pack our useful stuff
  2. keep on top of the housework
  3. practise the recorder
  4. listen to music from Nova Scotia and Newfoundland
  5. read French fluently
  6. write a daily blog entry

III. Six things I can’t do.

  1. move tomorrow; have to wait for E.g. to get a job first
  2. make enough money to get a house myself
  3. play my recorder without lots of mistakes
  4. drive
  5. complete a spoken sentence in my own language without pausing to search for its key word
  6. write short stories (they require bothersome bits such as character development and plot)

IV. Six things that attract me to the attractive sex.

  1. self-confidence
  2. sincerity
  3. kindness
  4. intelligence
  5. enjoyment of day trips
  6. thinking my jokes are funny
  7. not thinking my serious moments are funny
  8. love of animals
  9. musical ability
  10. ability to doodle cute little singing, skiing, or swinging worms on the envelopes of my birthday cards… oh, wait — that’s ten already.

V. Six things I say most often.

  1. I
  2. really
  3. do
  4. prefer
  5. to
  6. write 

VI. Six celebrities I admire.

  1. Cher
  2. Johnny Depp
  3. Sir Ian McKellan
  4. Dame Judy Dench
  5. Dame Maggie Smith
  6. Patrick Stewart

Done-diddly-dundundun-DONE! Have a good weekend everybody!

4 Responses to A Saturday Survey

  1. hello lavenderbay its dennis the vizsla dog hay this is a grate list i am luking forward to seeing yore bakyard with the howse attachd sumday!!! ok bye

  2. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Dennis! And once we’ve got it, you can come over and play any time!

  3. Alyson says:

    Keeping on top of the housework?? You’re my hero! The short stories we can work on, but the housework may have to slip somewhat…oh wait, that’s at MY house. Bugger.

  4. lavenderbay says:

    Yes, Alyson, keeping on top of the housework, like walking on eggshells. Oh, wait… poor analogy…

Leave a Reply

