A Job with the City


“I realize that the circumstantial evidence is overwhelming…


“…so I’d like to speak in my little brother’s defence.


“This is what the City did to the White Mulberry tree in the adjoining parkette on Wednesday.


“And this is what the City did to the Manitoba Maple, which had stood ten metres from the Mulberry, on Friday.


“So I’m sure we can all excuse Fergus for wanting to enhance his resumé this morning with a little in-home practice.”

11 Responses to A Job with the City

  1. hello fergus its dennis the vizsla dog hay wuz that a pillo monster??? they ar evryware i tel yoo!!!

  2. goodbear says:

    way to stick up for the little guy, cai!

  3. Gina says:

    I don’t blame him one bit!

  4. lavenderbay says:

    Yes, it was a pillow monster, Dennis. But the Dognamic Duo have reduced the population in our household to three — much slimmer chances, now, of seeing the moving van hijacked.

    I thank you, Goodbear. I must protect my younger sibling if I want him around to jostle and tease for years to come. – Cai.

  5. lavenderbay says:

    Oh hi, Gina! I didn’t blame Fergus either, even though in the photos he looks like he’s afraid of repercussions. He’s a powerful chewer, and it’s my fault if the toys are picked up and he doesn’t have one available.

  6. Mutual friend Jane says:

    If Fergus wants to perfect his resume for the Civic Arborist Dept, he can visit our lane and chew on the Manitoba Maple behind our house to his heart’s content. I know it’s fairly huge, but I’m sure it takes more than a mature tree to daunt the Fergusoid spirit. This is a terrible invasive species of tree and we need to take ours down soon before it flattens the shed and a few parked cars.

  7. lavenderbay says:

    We’re on it, Jane! We’ll smear the base with a little peanut butter to hold his interest, and maybe he’ll scare off a few squirrels while he’s at it.

  8. Alyson Hill says:

    Why? Why? White Mulberries don’t hurt anything – they don’t even stain! And I don’t know about Maples but I….have no words.

    As for Fergus, he has that look about him that we all get the morning after drinking an entire bottle of something…it seemed like a good idea at the time, but what was I thinking?

  9. lavenderbay says:

    I don’t know why they took down the Mulberry, Alyson — as far as I knew, it was fine. The Manitoba Maple had split during the winter and lost half of itself. A crew came two months later to remove all the branches, but left the trunk, which sprouted leaves all summer. My question would be rather, why didn’t they remove the whole tree the first time?
    It’s true, Fergus did have a bit of a feathery chuck-up within an hour after the photo shoot. My heart goes all melty when I look at these photos though, especially the last one, in which he seems to have a tear of contrition in his left eye. And I never scolded him or anything.

  10. Checkers says:

    Fergus has the most amazing ears! Happy Halloween to you all!

  11. lavenderbay says:

    And also with you, Checkers! Good to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

