In the End, it Doesn’t Matter

Got some housework done today. Going out for supper in about ten minutes. Quick entry today, before my quick exit.

E.g. and I went up to Shelley’s place on Saturday for a post-wake work party. Shelley is now a widow. E.g. and I are a lesbian couple. Shelley’s son lives in a different province. Shelley’s oldest friend (since they were eight) showed up with his ex-girlfriend. And even so-called normalcy was represented, in the form of Shelley’s daughter, son-in-law, and granddaughter.

In the end, it didn’t matter how our families and friendships were configured. We were all there to help. E.g. and I put away the garden furniture and made the riding mower and snow blower trade places, the guys built a new dog run based on an old chicken coop, and the women helped with laundry, groceries, and filing. Something for everyone.

And pizza all around.

It was a good way to spend a Saturday.

13 Responses to In the End, it Doesn’t Matter

  1. Shelley says:

    …and Shelley is VERY thankful to have such wonderful friends who have dropped everything to come and help out.

    If not for you guys I’d still be a blubbering mess, staring at a list of things that needed to be done before snow that remains comes, and with no energy to get to it.

    You guys are wonderful….I love you!!

  2. lavenderbay says:

    Yeah, well, you know, I mean, shucks, eh?
    E.g. can tell you how I can get overwhelmed by too long a to-do list. I would be glad of the same type of help — so I’m glad to be able to offer it. And E.g. would probably say the same thing!

  3. eyegillian says:

    Um, yeah. Ditto. I’m glad we could help out.

    And I find having a to-do list a must-have, especially when there is so much that needs to get done. Hint hint.

  4. lavenderbay says:

    “Hint hint”, Eyegillian? Oh, I get it. Which one of my chores would you like to add to your list? (I already vacuumed the piano and polished its pedals with Brasso the other day, so that one’s crossed off. ) What — that’s not what you meant?

  5. goodbear says:

    i’m sure having a pile of corgi dogs around was nice, too?

  6. Glad everyone was able to be there with Shelley.

  7. Gina says:

    That is so nice. I know that made Shelly feel so much better. People used to come to each other’s aid like that often but not so much these days.

  8. lavenderbay says:

    Mostly the corgis were tucked away in their crates, Goodbear, because the (farm-size) gate to the backyard was wide open. But I did get them out for potty breaks one by one, and they all seemed to remember me. And Brogan the Irish Wolfhound must be a foot taller than he was a month ago!

    Yes, James, it was nice to meet her kids and old school chums.

    One thing I’m thinking about, Gina, is the paradox of the Internet community. The reason E.g. and I knew to come up on Saturday was because we communicate with Shelley through e-mail; and we use e-mail because, being a two-hour drive away, we can’t just stroll over to shoot the breeze. I’m communicating with you right now, and you live a thousand miles from my kitchen table! So while the Internet improves the chances of finding “kindred spirits”, it doesn’t necessarily increase the availability of helping hands. How’s that for a two-cent theory?

  9. Alyson says:

    Normal? There is no normal – only love and friendships.

    WoW what kind of tea is this?

  10. lavenderbay says:

    Right on, Alyson! I think the tea is groovy, but I’d love the recipe for these far-out homemade brownies! Dig?

  11. Shelley says:

    BTW – I wouldn’t consider Robyn exacly “normal” 🙂 After all I’m her mother!

    And you forgot Lew…the widower…and he’s never been accused of being normal either. Between me, Robbie, and Lew we were one of the “odder” groups in high school

  12. lavenderbay says:

    I make it a policy to respond to all my commenters’ comments, Alyson, but you can have the last word this time. Oh, wait…

    On the other hand, Shelley, not every little girl gets to grow up with a Paint Horse for a big brother. I didn’t realize until Saturday that Manitou predates Robyn. While this circumstance is not commonplace either, I understand that it is a highly enviable one (even E.g. longed for a horse when she was little) . That should count for something.
    I didn’t know what Lew’s family status was, but he pretty much rounds out the bunch, doesn’t he?
    High school, hmm… there should be stats somewhere on how many people feel that they did fit in? Sometimes I think now that people should go to work when they’re twelve, and skip the enforced extended babyhood.
    Meanwhile, the extraordinary thing about you three is that you still keep in touch. Big semantic shift there from “weird” to “rare” — congratulations!

Leave a Reply

