Early to Bed — Understandably

My morning so far:

  1. made the bed
  2. took the four puppies, one at a time, on leash for first potty breaks
  3. let the other five dogs out, in two groups, for their potties
  4. prepared (5 different menus) and served their breakfasts in their crates
  5. rinsed out and refilled their water buckets
  6. polished off two cups of coffee
  7. visited half my blogroll and checked out a new blog
  8. set the horses’ mash on to soak
  9. served the horses their carrots
  10. chatted with the roofer and got an estimate from him
  11. put yesterday’s washed towels in the dryer
  12. served the horses their mash
  13. let the dogs out again, this time in three groups
  14. rinsed out and filled one of the outdoor water buckets
  15. changed the newspapers in the puppies’ crates, and straightened the fleeces in the others
  16. ensured that each crate had a nylabone
  17. did poopie patrol with the scooper
  18. found fresh newspapers in the garage to refill the box near the puppy crates
  19. brought in the four “free-range” dogs and gave them bickies
  20. opened another pen, brought in the patriarch and gave him a bickie
  21. walked the by-now-very-strong Wolfhound puppy up onto the back porch so the Cardi puppies could roam the backyard
  22. wrote this entry

… and now it’s 09 25, the time many people are starting their workday.

If it weren’t that doggie bladders already consider 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. a lengthy time span, I would be tempted to go to bed right after the news.

10 Responses to Early to Bed — Understandably

  1. After reading all that, I think *I’M* ready for a nap! 😉

  2. lavenderbay says:

    Remind me never to get my own hobby farm, James!

  3. Gina says:

    Just reading that made me tired!

  4. lavenderbay says:

    There’s some coffee left, Gina — join me?

  5. Shelley says:

    Is this why I’m so exhausted?

  6. lavenderbay says:

    Might have something to do with it, Shelley.

  7. Mutual friend Jane says:

    Can I assume you’re back in the country?

  8. lavenderbay says:

    Yes…no…yes…no…yes…no…

  9. Alyson says:

    I’m very mpressed that you are a ‘make the bed’ first kinda person…I *forget* that bit in the face of the mountain of feeding/watering/cleaning before me. And that’s just one of the reasons I give for my lack of housewifely care 🙂 !

  10. lavenderbay says:

    You needn’t be impressed, Alyson. Making the bed first thing is a habit developed in my impecunious young adulthood, when the bed took up a much larger proportion of my living quarters than it does now. In those days, an unmade bed would be an incitement to despair.
    Now if I had five acres of my own to hide in, my bedmaking prowess might slip a bit too…

Leave a Reply

