Auguries of Innocence, Revisited

to-see-a-world-in-a-grain-of-sand

  • To see a world in a blurp of sand,
  • And a heaven in whole-wheat flour,
  • Hold my life in a paper towel in my hand — ?
  • I need to get out for an hour.

Many thanks to William Blake and his poem, “Auguries of Innocence”.

11 Responses to Auguries of Innocence, Revisited

  1. almostgotit says:

    Why, this is quite lovely. What a fun discovery, your blog!

  2. lavenderbay says:

    Well good morning, Almostgotit! I found your blog early yesterday morning (through Dennis’s Diary of Destruction) , and liked what I saw, and then lost it in the shuffle. Going back to blogroll you NOW before I forget.

  3. eyegillian says:

    Your poetic skills are truly a marvel! How Fergus managed to swallow a whole mouthfull of sand is another question entirely…

  4. lavenderbay says:

    …without even playing fetch. I don’t play fetch with Cai in that sandy park anymore because he ingests sand every time he picks up the ball, but Fergus was just running around with other dogs.

  5. Gina says:

    Love it! 🙂
    That one looks like Italy.

  6. lavenderbay says:

    I think so too, Gina. I keep wondering what the shape would be if he tossed up mashed potatoes… Thanks for dropping by!

  7. That looks just like the sort of stuff we have to clean up around here on a regular basis …

  8. lavenderbay says:

    I hear ya, James, I hear ya! And you have 33% more dog than we do. At least Cuca has been given the rare blessing of never having hairballs.

  9. […] well take them to the beach. (Interestingly enough, unlike the trip to a dog park commemorated by a blurp photo, neither Cai nor Fergus made any post-beach regurgitations. […]

  10. Alyson says:

    So glad this is a blurp and not a blart. When I first looked at it, I thought it was a blart. And I felt sorry for you.

  11. lavenderbay says:

    I recall only one memorable blart, before we got Fergus. Jane and Robert were over for supper, and as a treat we gave Cai a big knuckle bone to gnaw. About half an hour into the meal, I noticed that there almost nothing left of that bone. Uh-oh. He was fine the next day, but the finely-ground, solid white extrusions were a marvel to behold.

Leave a Reply

