Thank You for Being Blogfriends

computer

…our words go ’round the world and back again…

Down in the States today, it’s Thanksgiving. It’s the first time in my life I’ve ever noticed it. The only holiday for Canadians this month is Remembrance Day, wherein the soggy fallen maple leaves and chill drizzle of November create the perfect pathetic-fallacy setting to the laying of poppy wreaths at the foot of grey monuments. Europe couldn’t have picked a better day for a ceasefire.

But back to today. It’s Thanksgiving Day down in the States. A reverent, indoor hush has slowly stolen in since yesterday, a quiet, tingling anticipation of the one thing that unites all humankind: the joy of a shared meal.

And why have I noticed this for the first time ever? Because over half of my blogfriends are talking turkey today. From New York City to Memphis to San Diego to Kona, and a few other states in between, you’re tucking away your laptops and tucking into the table. I’ve been watching the computer screens dimming since yesterday.

So today, I thought I would show my thanks for having youse guys in my klatsch. First, I’ll introduce the final three new members of my blogroll, one of whom lives in the States. Then I’ll mention a little blog admin I did yesterday.

Okay, in alphabetical order, introducing:

1. Almostgotit. I found myself enjoying Almostgotit’s comments on Dennis’s blog, and went to check her out. She lives in Tennessee, has a degree in English, writes real good, and has been looking for employment that would (a) make proper use of her talents and education and (b) honour her with an appropriate financial reward. She’s been looking for a while now. Stop by and visit if you need a dose of humour, a glimpse of her cats and woodstove, an encouraging quotation by someone already famous, or an eye-rolling tale of her latest job interview. She looks the Hiring Demons in the face, and giggles over their tie selection.

2. Celtic Memory Yarns. I discovered Jo’s blog on Livingisdetail’s blogroll. Jo’s blog entries, posted about twice or thrice a month, are a treat for the eyes and the subvocalizing ears. She writes about her wool work: not just knitting it, but spinning and dyeing it as well. You’ll meet her little dogs, her friends, the local Standing Stones, and other attractions of the ancient Irish hillsides where she lives. Her blog title is well chosen, as her entries are beautifully-spun tales, always imbued with a hint of magic.

3. Huckleberry Days. A few months ago, Themarvelousinnature pointed to Huckleberry as an excellent new nature blogger. Huckleberry lives in the Vancouver area of British Columbia. Each post focuses on one ecological detail, usually of the Fraser River Delta. It may be a plant, a species of animal, or an aspect of the natural environment. Topics for the month of November include Teasel, Western Bunchberry, and glassworts; Western Red-backed Salamanders, Rock Doves, and cockles; and rainbows, drainage ditches, and bogs. Huckleberry posts daily; she keeps her entries a manageable length, and keeps ’em coming.

***Applause***

Okay, now for the little admin thingy I did yesterday. If you scroll over my sidebar, you’ll find little highlighted tags for each of your blogs.

Thank you for being blogfriends.

9 Responses to Thank You for Being Blogfriends

  1. hello lavenderbay its dennis the vizsla dog hay thank yoo also for beeing my blogfrend!!! and oh gosh yoo think i am handsumer AND funneeer than harrison ford!!!! i am blushing under my hat and fur!!!! ok bye

  2. lavenderbay says:

    Hello Dennis, you good boy, you! Lucky for you your fur is red. (Whoops! I accidentally spelled it “read”, but that’s your blog, not your fur. ) Okay, bye!

  3. goodbear says:

    that’s so cool, the rollover tags!

    you’ve always been so supportive of other bloggers. so…we’re thankful for YOU!

    i don’t typically make a big deal about thanksgiving. at least the turkey and country part.
    for me, its more of an “i’m glad i know you and you and you” day.

  4. lavenderbay says:

    “Okay, everybody! Purple dinosaur OFF the set!” (sorry, couldn’t help it… )
    And not even a big serving of Tofurkey would make it better, would it, Goodbear — especially since you’re allergic to soy products! I’m making stew for supper tonight, which would be perfectly respectably vegan if the lamb were left out. But I’ll toast you with the Merlot. 🙂

  5. goodbear says:

    cheers! looking forward to raising a glass, myself!

  6. Gina says:

    Thanks for being my blogfriend too. Your blog is one I HAVE to visit daily.
    Thanks for what you said about me in the rollover. How nice! I also love what you said about The Aged Cat. 🙂

  7. lavenderbay says:

    Okay, it’s the morning after the trytophan-laden night before. E.g. and I toasted you, Goodbear, and E.g. said she hopes your camera troubles get sorted out.

    Your blog friendship means a lot to me, Gina (you might remember the term “cognitive dissonance” from your education degree? Thanks for the mind expansion! 🙂 ) . I’m glad you like the descriptions. I miss The Aged Cat.

  8. almostgotit says:

    Hey, how fun is *THAT?* Thanks so much, both for the shout out and the pop-up tag!

  9. lavenderbay says:

    You’re welcome, Almostgotit. Welcome to my klatsch!

Leave a Reply

