Serious Turtle

Today I got an e-mail from the World Wildlife Federation (I always feel the need to spell it out in order to distinguish it from the World Wrestling Federation) . They periodically ask their members to send a letter to a world leader or sign a petition on behalf of dolphins (who have a really hard time with ballpoints) or something similar. So I send, or sign. It’s easy enough to do, and I feel good supporting this organization.

Today’s e-mail is just a little different. They are asking for photos “featuring your eyes” to symbolize the idea that “the whole world is watching.”

Well, last year in my Drawing II class, we had to make watercolour self-portraits. Just the head. We were to sit with a mirror as close to our face as possible without going cross-eyed, and put in every little line, shadow, and plane that we saw.

Just as well my vanity is not invested in my looks.

Anyway, I thought I would use a crop of that watercolour. Here now, for your glee, is How Turtle Sees Herself:

img_0069

Scary, n’est-ce pas? Though somewhat mitigated by the purple background.

But wait! I cropped in further. Then I played with the colours.

watching-ii

What do you think? Serious enough? Do you like the earth tones? Would you want this hanging on the wall behind you while you’re working at your computer?

8 Responses to Serious Turtle

  1. goodbear says:

    wow! you’re really good! that is so great. intriguing…
    and yes,…very serious!

  2. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Goodbear! Now would you like a funny story? My teacher had all our assignments spread out on his desk, with the seven of us gathered ’round. He said mine was really good — but couldn’t tell by looking at us who had painted it. A “Drawing III” class might be a good idea. 😀

  3. Gina says:

    Excellent! The difference in the whole picture and the close-up is astounding.
    I love the lines. I drew a self-portrait once in Art for Children at U of Memphis and my professor it looked like me and captured my innocence but it ws very childish and simple as I don’t know how to draw. I’ll have to see if my mom still has it.

  4. lavenderbay says:

    Hi, Gina! Glad you like it. I had to work reeeeaaaalllly hard in my drawing classes, but I was pleased with the progress made. And so was my teacher.
    Do you think you would ever publish your self-portrait, or is that just too scary an idea?
    Art for children: I think I was the last one in my age group to realize that people have bodies as well as heads, arms and legs! 🙂

  5. I think that’s quite a remarkable drawing!

  6. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, James! But then, you’re the expert in horror stories and gothic comics.

  7. almostgotit says:

    You are an artist!

  8. lavenderbay says:

    I guess so, Almostgotit — my specialty seems to be to age my subjects by ten years!

Leave a Reply

