Wooden Things

I love wood.

I love it when it’s still alive outside, and when it’s been shaped into good and useful things. I love the smell of sawdust. I love the sound a wooden instrument makes. I love stirring the porridge, the soup, or the bread dough with a wooden spoon. I love canoeing with a wooden paddle. I love sitting in a wooden chair at a wooden table. I love curling up in the papasan, which isn’t quite wood (rattan is a viney palm) , but looks as though it were. I love handing Robert and Jane their glasses of wine when they come over; Robert always chooses the old wooden rocking chair.

Wood is what I need.

rocker   table-and-chairs 

papasan

recorder  willa

9 Responses to Wooden Things

  1. goodbear says:

    nice post! i too love sawdust smells and prefer being around woody things.

  2. lavenderbay says:

    Maybe we could devise a smell meme, Goodbear! “#1. Pastry shop or lumber yard?” Me, it’s the cellulose, not the sucrose.

  3. goodbear says:

    8 of your favorite smells?? or something!?
    i’m going to do it! a smell meme!

  4. […] friends | Tags: cooking, food, friends, lists, memes, smell, tag, tagged ooooh! a smell meme!  lavenderbay and i were chatting on her blog about smells and she suggested we do a smell […]

  5. You would’ve loved our house in New York — log home, wall-to-wall wood.

  6. lavenderbay says:

    You had a photo or two of it on a post, James; I remember oohing and ahing over it. Was this the home in the snow belt that forced you finally to seek warmer climes?

  7. lavenderbay says:

    Oh! Ack! Goodbear, you left another comment, and I didn’t even see it! Yes, a smell meme sounds like fun. Now if my very ill computer will live long enough, a smell meme is what I will do today. (The weekly scan, which usually takes 45 minutes, took four hours today. )

  8. Gina says:

    I also love wood, especially smelling new wood. The recorder is the only instrument I know how to play.

  9. lavenderbay says:

    You play recorder too, Gina? Cool! In high school I played French horn, which needed only three fingers knowing what they were doing — and even then, half the time if I got the fingering wrong I could just tune the sound to the right note with my breath pressure. I’m happy that I can now play the recorder, which uses nine fingers.

Leave a Reply

