Chicken Soup Instead of the Sole

Well okay, it’s not sole in the freezer, it’s kippered herring. We don’t always see kippers in the freezer section at the grocery store, but there they were two weeks ago, so one of them came home with us.

I was in Whitby once, the one in northern England.

There’s a hostel right there beside the old abbey. I could look out the window from my upper bunk and see the ruined walls in the moonlight.

By day, Whitby felt to me a lot like Port Dover here in Ontario: a small seaside resort catering mainly to people living in the region. Most of the town is at the bottom of the cliff — shops and houses and the pier and the beach — with mostly the guest houses and ruins at the top of the cliff.

But on a little road still commanding a high view, and not very far at all from the hostel, is a little building, with a little chimney, out of which pours the most delicious odour of smoke and salt and fish. It’s a kipper smokery. I walked by it on the wrong day to buy, but I hadn’t known it was there, and was grateful to have experienced it.

The next morning, the hostel had choices for breakfast. One was kippers from the little building down the road. Guess what I chose?

Tonight I’m making chicken soup for supper. It will be tasty and nourishing and all those good things.

E.g. doesn’t care for kippers. Maybe I’ll have them for breakfast tomorrow, after she leaves for work.

6 Responses to Chicken Soup Instead of the Sole

  1. Kippers! The extent of my knowledge of kippers comes from Supertramp:

    “Could we have kippers for breakfast
    Mummy dear, mummy dear
    They got to have ’em in Texas
    ‘Cause everyone’s a millionaire”

    Do you suppose Texas millionaires actually eat a lot of kippers? I would guess they eat more beef, but I could be wrong …

  2. Gina says:

    Never had kippers but I like chicken soup!

  3. lavenderbay says:

    I suppose kippers might make a fascinating ingredient in chili, James — a smokey, bony, je-ne-sais-quoi…
    I like strong-flavoured things. I took some Lapsang Souchong tea to the nursing home for the night shift one time, and the nurse on duty started hunting around the reception desk to find the burning rubber she thought she was smelling.

    The chicken soup was great, Gina! This week’s version has sweet vegetables in it: sweet potato, leek, parsnip, carrot, as well as celery and garlic. Those were the veggies on hand yesterday. No telling what it’ll consist of next week! 🙂
    As to the kippers, you might want to invite three friends over the first time, for a taste test on one little fish. There is no indifference in the world of kippers!

  4. almostgotit says:

    Eeew, kippers. I only have them on family hiking trips, arranged by my husband’s family, in which we lose 10 pounds each by the end because each day we hike for 10 hours and stop midway for crackers and kippers. At which time that kippers taste REALLY GOOD. But that is the ONLY time they do…

  5. Alyson says:

    Is it like having sardines and tomato sauce on toast?

  6. lavenderbay says:

    It sounds like you’re describing those tinned “kipper snacks”, Almostgotit. I’d rather have sardines in tomato sauce. Real kippers haven’t been tinned. They may very well still be gross and disgusting, in the way that olives or oysters may be gross and disgusting depending on your taste. The ones I had yesterday weren’t all that flavourful either, actually, and had been robbed of their bones and skin. Will have to keep looking.
    Great way to get into shape, though!

    Hi, Alyson! See above. I will also add here that the ones I had yesterday have a nutritional rating of 92% of your daily sodium for one portion. Yum!

Leave a Reply

