License Plate of the Vanities

plate-picture
Standard issue: four letters and three letters separated by a crown. Plate is updated annually with a sticker in top right corner.

A few years back, Ontario opened up to its citizens the possibility of spending even more money for government services, with vanity plates for cars.

If you’re unsure of the concept, a vanity plate is a personalized license plate. Here in Ontario, you can choose to decorate it with one of over forty graphics — the Toronto Maple Leafs, the SPCA, and the Rotary Club are a few examples — or you can choose your own sequence of between two and eight letters or numbers. As long as your sequence is unique, you’re permitted to pay for it.

Some motorists like to monogram their plates. A married couple by the name of Sandy Jones and Kim Robertson, for example, might spring for:
SJ KR .

Others may give hints about their occupation, describe their personality, spell out their name, or converse with the drivers around them. Some licenses are harder to decipher than others; solving their puzzles helps to while away travel time.

Here are a few I’ve seen lately. I like how so many of them answer questions.

Who owns this car?

  • WEE JAN
  • KLANCY
  • SIR JOHN
  • GOTTFTHR

What kind of car is that?

  • MYSOLARA
  • MRS KIA
  • INIW
  • ALEC
  • HYBRID Z

Tell me something about your job.

  • CHEF 1
  • SIGNS UP
  • MT BTLS
  • RAZOR 33
  • CHUTNEY

How long are you planning to work?

  • TL IWIN

How would you describe yourself?

  • HOTLIPZ
  • QRXZ
  • TEXAS A
  • WER CDN
  • M84EVR
  • RE KING
  • FN 2 BME
  • MR MOST

Have you anything to say?

  • RU SXY 2
  • CUQT
  • GO 2 GO

How would you like your license plate to read?

12 Responses to License Plate of the Vanities

  1. Haha this is great. I personal enjoy RU SXY 2. I would love to have that for my site (click my name if interested in seeing more plates!)

  2. Shelley says:

    My sister has LUVS2WN (does that tell you why we never got along?)

    I thought about SC CMA, and CORGIES (my friend Dave has CORGIS and Charlie has CORGI)

    I’ll stick with what I’ve got…totally immemorable, just like me 🙂

  3. lavenderbay says:

    Hi, Horrible Licenceplates, glad I could add to your collection. I went to peek at your blog, and must say that I interpreted “Avonrea” in a different way. The books of Lucy Maude Montgomery have long been a favourite with Japanese girls and women. Some of those books are: Anne of Green Gabres, Anne of Windy Poprars, Anne of Avonrea… you get the idea.

    How ’bout CARDICAR, Shelley? Or CARDICAN?

  4. Gina says:

    I love those and enjoy reading them as I drive myself.
    You are a GR8 M8.

  5. Seabrooke says:

    I always have fun with vanity plates while out on the road, too. There are some good ones. Remember that game show on tv where the whole premise was vanity plates and you had to try to guess what they said?

    I used to think I’d go for BIRDGIRL or maybe 4DBIRDS but since expanding my interest to include more than just birds it might have to be N8R LVR, or I could go for the I Heart graphic with the plate 2BOUTDRS.

  6. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Gina! Sometimes, though, I think I’m more of a GR8ING M8…

    I haven’t seen that show, Seabrooke; mind you, I’ve never seen Survivor or Malibu 60843 or whatever-it’s-called; my ability to answer Trivial Pursuit questions ends at the turn of the 80s.
    I like your suggestion of N8R LVR best!

  7. I always thought that after the movie version of “A Flock of Crows is Called a Murder”, I would like to get a plate that said AFOCICAM. Nobody would ever figure that one out. Unfortunately I’m still waiting for somebody to buy the rights to actually make a movie out of it …

    My wife would certainly get a plate that had something to do with vizslas.

  8. lavenderbay says:

    This is outrageous, James! Lemme speed-dial Pete Jackson immediately. He made LOTR big, so this would be his next challenge.
    Did you hear that, Dennis? Mama wants a Vizsla plate on the car! Mmm, how ’bout raw turkey necks and lamb stew?

  9. Alyson says:

    HLP LOST for me I think. SNZZZZ would draw too much attention!

  10. lavenderbay says:

    Oh Alyson, I needed a good guffaw just about now. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

