First Things First

So, yeah, we went to a wool shop yesterday, and I bought a book or two. Today we went through our stash (technical term: means all the various weights, colours, and compositions of all the skeins, balls, and twizzly bits of yarn in one’s possession), reacquainting ourselves with some interesting stuff we’d forgotten all about.

New experiments will come later, however. I’ve already started a crocheted sweater, my first. My mum gave us some purply acrylic yarn left over from an afghan project, and there was almost enough for this pullover, so I’m doing the hem and cuffs in a shiny bluish yarn.

The purply colour is called “sweet violet”, and the bluish colour is called “sapphire” . In order to show the cabling, we had to manipulate the second photo below fairly drastically. The real-life colour of the sweater-in-progress is somewhere between those of the two photos.

Not a terribly exciting post today, but I figger that putting my project into the blogosphere will help motivate me to finish it.

To be continued!

pullover-lady
The photo accompanying the pattern I’d saved from the Autumn 1999 Crochet Digest.

ridges
A close-up showing the nifty ridging effected by front-post-treble-crocheting, something easier done than said.

8 Responses to First Things First

  1. I am a very beginner knitter. I’ve made scarves, simple slippers and a few sweaters for Patrick. A Human sweater seems SO daunting! Good job – we look forward to seeing the finished product!

  2. lavenderbay says:

    A human sweater is a bit daunting, Sarah; I first learned to crochet eleven years ago, and I’ve been saving that pattern for nearly ten of them!
    You might want to look for a pattern for knitting a shrug, which is a shawl with cuffs. I raised my intestinal-fortitude strength level ( 😉 ) by making a few of those.
    Do you have photos on your blog of Patrick’s sweaters? I’ve only seen photos of him in his blue fleece hoodie.

  3. Now that we all know about your project, you have to complete it! 😉

  4. lavenderbay says:

    No… not that… Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrggggggggghhhhhhhhhhh!

  5. almostgotit says:

    I still maintain that crocheting is impossible. I can sort of knit, but who ever heard of making fabric using a hook?

  6. lavenderbay says:

    Hi, Lolarusa! Your comments — three of them — tinkled into my inbox as I was putting the finishing touches on today’s entry. I’m thinkin’ you may have something there.

  7. Gorgeous! I wish I knew how to crochet — but then, where would I fit crochet time into the daily mix??

  8. lavenderbay says:

    You know, back before the time of disposable diapers, babies used to wear knitted garments called “soakers” . Maybe you could invent a crocheted wet suit for crafty divers to work up on winter evenings? 😛

Leave a Reply

