Buy Beer, Save on Groceries

skapetti-night

I really wasn’t going to post again about beer today — especially as there’s a slim possibility that E.g.’s teetotalling father may occasionally peek at this blog — but this story is too good not to write up immediately.

We buy our beer in sixpacks. One carton in the coat closet takes up very little room, and two cartons are still modest, cozy lodgers. So we tend to be lazy, and forget to return the empties for the deposit when we go to buy more suds.

After several weeks things come to a head, as it were: we must either stop buying beer, or throw out some shoes. Then there’s the third alternative, so this afternoon, on the way to the grocery store, I dropped off three sixpacks and two extra empty bottles at the Beer Store, and received $2.60.

Then I headed over to the Cheap Thrills grocer’s. Pasta for supper tonight, so let’s see, a big fat green pepper, three “portobellini” (oversized cremini or undersized portobello) mushrooms, and a tin of Romano beans oughta do it. We already have the crushed tomatoes, garlic, pasta, and seasonings at home.

The beans were a great deal at 69¢. The produce items needed to be weighed to determine their price; the green pepper was 88¢ and the mushrooms came to $1.02. The total, for this expedition, was $2.59.

It’s almost as if the Beer Store paid me 1¢ to get groceries.

13 Responses to Buy Beer, Save on Groceries

  1. goodbear says:

    there can never be too many posts about beer. that’s what i think, anyway.
    and clearly fergus agrees…

  2. Alyson says:

    And that’s how beer symbiosis SHOULD run.

  3. lavenderbay says:

    You’re right, Goodbear. My public needs me!

    Ah, I hadn’t reflected on the biological aspect of it, Alyson, but now it all makes sense.

  4. That’s right, it’s the Circle of Beer. Hakuna matata!

  5. lavenderbay says:

    I haven’t tried Hakuna Matata, James. Is it a Hawaiian brewery? Mmm, Polynesian pilsner…

  6. Gina says:

    That is amazing the price came out like that!! Cliff likes beer and buys a can every three or four days. 🙂
    Sometimes I swig a sip out of his.

  7. Seabrooke says:

    Where did the word teetotal come from to indicate a person who never imbibes alcohol? Completely committed to tea?

  8. lavenderbay says:

    I think taking an occasional swig from your husband’s beer sez more about your affection for him than your interest in beer, Gina. 😉

    The short answer, Seabrooke, is that Wikipedia doesn’t know. Since it traces the term to the Temperance Society days of the early 1800s, though, my own guess would be that “tee” stands for “temperance”. It can’t possibly have anything to do with golf tees; I’ve never played the game, but I’ve heard plenty about club houses.

  9. almostgotit says:

    Beer, Blech. I’ve tried to like it for years, and never pulled it off.

    Your pasta recipe sounds yummy, though, and I may try it… with red wine, though.

  10. lolarusa says:

    This reminds me of the time that I saw a jacket at the thrift store marked down to only 99 cents. Still unsure whether I wanted it, I tried it on – and found a dollar in the pocket. There it hangs on the coat rack.

  11. lavenderbay says:

    I’m not too big on scotch, Almostgotit — are we even?
    If you try this pasta sauce, make sure you put goodly amounts of seasoning into it; ours could’ve used more. E.g.’s theory is that the beans overpower the other flavours.

    Ooo, that’s a great story, Lolarusa! A jacket couldn’t shout, “Take me home!” any louder, could it?

  12. Don’t know which I like better — your beer/pasta dinner story or Lolarusa’s jacket story.

    When I was leaving Denver for home recently, I found a nickel on the floor at the airport. I picked it up and put it into my pocket, thinking to myself, “Maybe this is the ‘change’ I need.” Heh.

    Still waiting…

  13. lavenderbay says:

    I know, it’s a toss-up now, Bobbie.
    Speaking of tossing, I hope your nickel turns out to be lucky for you. I’m starting to feel as though “wait” is a four-letter word in more ways than one. Oh, well.

Leave a Reply

