Whew, and all that

Hi, people.

On Sunday, my laptop became seriously ill. I found the system installation disc, and so far it’s been taking 74 hours to install.

So, like, I’ve got a new computer now, eh? Walked around downtown, spending about four hours (including the walk there and back), comparing sizes of screen and memory and price, and picked out something in the middle somewhere. At first, not remembering the internet password, there threatened to be tears, but finally E.g. remembered where such info was kept, and said info was gotten ahold of.

E.g.’s away on business this week, so I can’t use her laptop. It was weird being off-line for so long, but I did manage to read an Agatha Christie novel… in French!

Pretty tired after the big shopping day. Will reply to your comments tomorrow, and start catching up on your blogs. Thanks to everybody who’s stopped by while I was offline.

16 Responses to Whew, and all that

  1. barefootheart says:

    You were missed. Glad it was the computer that was down and not you.

  2. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Barefootheart!

  3. Poirot or Marple? (Or Tommy & Tuppence?)

  4. lavenderbay says:

    Neither, actually. I was just telling a friend that I think I would have preferred a witness to the crimes who needs to puzzle things out before providing the explanation. The denouement to this story was in the form of a written confession placed into a bottle and tossed into the sea, and no one ever learning who had committed all the murders. As Alyson would say, Meh…

  5. It’s like having a life line cut off from you. I can only imagine. I don’t use my computer at home much but if I didn’t have one at work I would feel like a… well, I really don’t know. Good thing I don’t have to find out.

    But I do understand. Glad to see you up and running (sorta).

  6. lavenderbay says:

    Although I love playing online, Urban Thought, I’m a product of the Television Era. (The Univac computer is only ten years older than me!) So while I wasn’t exactly jonesing for a surfing fix, I did find myself watching about three times as much TV as usual. But it’s nice to get back to my “interactive television”. 😉

  7. S. Le says:

    You were gone? (lol) Glad you’re back. You must’ve been down a long time to read a novel in French! (lol)

  8. lavenderbay says:

    Not much longer than reading one in English, actually, S. Le, as I always subvocalize, but looking up those 6 dozen new words did add to the overall time a little.
    Before going on vacation earlier this year, I actually managed to read all of Victor Hugo’s Notre Dame de Paris. Having now experienced both, I can say that the cathedral was okay, but the book was better.

  9. almostgotit says:

    Glad you’re back! 🙂

  10. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Almostgotit. It’s good to be back!

  11. Seabrooke says:

    Glad you made it back online, but sorry to hear about the computer problems (been there recently myself…). It’s amazing how spending a pile of money unplanned can really suck the energy out of you. At least a new computer is a little exciting, even if it does take a while to settle in to it. I hope you’re feeling back to normal soon. (And yes, I know this post is a couple weeks old; I’ve been reading your newer stuff but wanted to go back to the original subject to comment, I’ve noticed you seemed a bit down in your last few posts).

  12. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Seabrooke. I don’t mind your commenting on an older post; your commiserations are accepted anytime. 🙂 Trying to get ourselves into Saint John has required quite a bit of effort, but we’re just about there now; I’ll probably post more news about it in the next few days.

  13. Seabrooke says:

    Any move is a huge headache, but especially moving such a long distance. Knowing how much trouble it’s been both for myself and Dan (moving three hours east of our previous location) and my parents (moving five), I can only imagine what it’s been like for you guys.

    On the upside – you’re moving to Saint John! Really, can there be any more of a reward at the end of all of this?

  14. lavenderbay says:

    Yes, Seabrooke, it’s been a headache, the two hugest — and interdependent — obstacles being Finding a Place and Finding a Job. I don’t know how we would have managed this if E.g.’s parents didn’t already live there, really I don’t. My friends Jane and Robert, when they moved here from Halifax twenty-odd years ago, had to live in a Scarborough hotel for the first two months! Anyway, Friday I hope to start blogging about the Saint John Settlement. 🙂

  15. Seabrooke says:

    A friend of Dan’s moved long-distance a few years ago and ended up doing the same thing, living out of a hotel for a couple of months. I would probably camp, if I was only there a few days on a scouting mission, in the summer, but it’s not really an option for longer trips, and certainly not at this time of year. Either way, not a lot of fun, so it’s pretty nice that you’ve got a place to stay while searching. I’m really looking forward to hearing about your new life! There’s so much excitement in discovering a new home.

  16. lavenderbay says:

    Yes, my blog won’t be lacking for material for the first while!

Leave a Reply

