Fifteen Honest Details

honest-scrap-award

I was tagged by two denizens of the Blogosphere, Dennis the Vizsla and Alyson, to cough up ten honest things about myself. Rather than write ten factoids for each tagger, I’ve decided to compromise and supply fifteen. Here goes:

1. My blogname comes from two houseplants — a wee Spanish lavender bush and a foot-high bay tree — I had at the time.

2. I’ve gotten hooked on Desperate Housewives. It plays in dubbed French five afternoons a week. I don’t know what year of the series is currently playing. George the sociopathic pharmacist has recently committed suicide. Accidentally.

3. Of the four major characters in Desperate Housewives, I identify most with Bree.

 4. I was assigned the French horn in school . It took me two weeks to develop a good enough embouchure to vibrate the mouthpiece, let alone get a sound out of the instrument.

5. In the school band, I played by ear a lot. I could never remember all the fingerings for the notes, so when I’d hit a false note I would tune it into place by puckering a little more or a little less.

6. My first name is simply one my parents liked.

7. My middle name is in honour of a family member, but despite my mum having explained it numerous times, I can never remember whom.

8. I can never spell “cinnamon” right the first time. It always wants to come out “cinammon”.

9. I have been eating chick peas (aka garbonzo beans) each day for the past six days.

10. My aunt in the big city taught me how to use chopsticks when I was nine. She took me to a Chinese restaurant as a reward.

11. At the Chinese restaurant, the paper placemats revealed that my aunt and I were both Ox-year people.

12. The meal included scallops. My first ever. By no means my last. Mmmmmmm, good!

13. Baseball was the only sport I liked playing no matter how bad I was at it (i.e. the only sport about which I was ever a “good sport”), and the only game whose rules I’ve ever understood.

14. Like my maternal grandfather, I can wiggle my ears.

15. I honestly can’t think of a fifteenth thing.

Close enough? Rate at least a two-out-of-ten on the interest scale? Oh, wait, wait! Ahem:

15. My fantasy life is much more interesting than my real life.

Tadaa!

Okay, now apparently I’m supposed to tag seven other bloggers. It can’t be Dennis or Alyson or Livingisdetail (Alyson tagged her) or Almostgotit (Dennis tagged her) or S. Le (she tagged Dennis) or the several bloggers who haven’t blogged for quite a while or who don’t do memes or who don’t really know I exist, so we’re left with:

A SISTER ACT: Goodbear and PennyCat!

A MOTHER-DAUGHTER TEAM: Seabrooke and Barefootheart!

WESTAHERE: Huckleberry!

SOUTHAHERE: Gina!

EASTAHERE: Urban Thought and Elizabeth!

Well okay, that makes eight. Close enough?

Anyway, youse guys, please tell us ten interesting things about yourselves, collect the “Honest Scrap” award, and tag seven other bloggers. Have fun!

14 Responses to Fifteen Honest Details

  1. I’ve seen a T-Shirt (or maybe a bumper sticker) that said “Prefers Her Fantasy Life”. I’m right there with that sentiment!

  2. lavenderbay says:

    Considering the madcap adventures of your housepets, James, I wouldn’t be surprised to learn you authored that sentiment! 😉

  3. barefootheart says:

    My first tag! Thanks, LB! Bree?? I need Bree here to clean my house.

  4. lavenderbay says:

    It’s the cold prickliness and overzealous judgmentalism and perfectionism that I (gulp) can relate to, Barefootheart. I used to describe myself as an emotional sea urchin, in the days before I got to know E.g. She’s mellowed me a bit over the past ten years. Plus I’m not a martyr-mother like Lynette, or a brilliant bored siren like Gabrielle, or a clueless waffly mess like Susan, or a heedless hedonist like Edie. So by process of elimination…
    Enjoy your tag!

  5. goodbear says:

    oxen! nice.
    i’m a dog. nice list. mine will be up in a few mins.

  6. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Goodbear! Btw, my son’s a dog too. He’s always had cats, though. It must be very easy for you to remember your sign!

  7. I think my blogging life is a lot more interesting than my real life. So I’m with you on the fantasy front.

    This is going to take me a minute to do. I have to think about me for a minute… I don’t do it often enough to actually come up with three, let alone ten.

  8. lavenderbay says:

    It can be tricky, Urban Thought, balancing the real with the interesting with the shareable. I found it hard, anyway. Take your time; the offer doesn’t expire anytime soon. 🙂

  9. […] was tagged by Lavenderbay over at Voice of the Turtle, to come up with ten honest scraps about me. My first tag! Thanks, […]

  10. Seabrooke says:

    Thanks for the tag, Turtle! I’m awfully behind on all things blog-related, but will hopefully get a chance to respond soon. 🙂

  11. lavenderbay says:

    Take your time, Seabrooke! Life sometimes has the effrontery to get in the way of blogging.

  12. I just noticed the tag! Thank you! I will give it some thought and see if I can be honest.

  13. lavenderbay says:

    Only as honest as you want to be, Huckleberry!
    I should have left a note for you — will try to remember for next time.

  14. […] the second is that I was tagged by Voice of the Turtle last week on a meme entitled Ten Honest Details (she expanded it to include 15). This is my response to the tag. Anyone else who wants to […]

Leave a Reply

