One Year Old

It’s my blogiversary.

“Voice of the Turtle” was started February 29, 2008. My writing has gotten better, and then worse, as have my photos. Currently I have no access to a camera and no photos stored in this new computer, hence the spare look, and nothing to write about anyway. And when my computer gave up the ghost only two weeks ago, my daily-entry streak was broken. And I’m anxious and depressed and getting snippy. Not to mention whingeing more. Or writing sentence fragments.

In comparison, how are my blogfriends? The governor of California, where Dennis the Vizsla lives, has just declared a state of emergency on account of their drought. Goodbear is recently bereaved of a close friend. Gina is in pain. Alyson and Livingisdetail are mourning the devastation caused by Australia’s wildfires. Elizabeth had to have spinal surgery. The Aged Cat and Checkers have pretty much left the blogosphere for personal reasons. Everyone has their troubles.

My igoogle homepage includes quotations from a few famous people. Today’s quotation from Plato reads:

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.

Sounds like a plan.

9 Responses to One Year Old

  1. Barefootheart says:

    Happy Blogiversary, Lavendarbay! You’ve done a great job. My goal is to make it through a year. Almost one month down!
    That’s a nice sentiment. It’s always good to be kind, no matter how people may test you. Doesn’t always make you feel better though. Hang in there. Better days are ahead. I like your Mom limerick.

  2. Congratulations for sticking with it — and for turning Voice of the Turtle into such an enjoyable read. Onward & upward!

    Bobbie

    P.S. We just tagged you for a meme over at TheRightBlue.com – if you want to participate. (If you don’t, absolutely no hard feelings.)

  3. livingisdetail says:

    Happy 1st Blog birthday lavenderbay. It has been wonderful coming along for the ride over the last year. Wow, that year went fast. Anyway, I know so many of us our going through hard, worrying times at the moment. It can be really difficult to find enough space to remember the good things and to take care of ourselves and each other. It always helps to get a timely reminder, so many thanks LB.

    You are always a wonderful neighbour out here in blogland. Thanks for sharing your wisdom, humour, compassion and talent. I think your photography and writing is top notch, but it is a process and we are always our own harshest critics. Whoops, sounds like I have been eating the self-help manual. What I mean is I can relate strongly to feeling like I have got better at something then worse but it is all so subjective anyway and usually means that I am pushing myself in some way.

  4. Happy anniversary! And hey, California may have no water, no money, and no jobs, but at least we have pretty wildfires to look at every year. And the potential for devastating earthquakes. Ah, good times …

  5. almostgotit says:

    Congrats on 1st anniversary! Blogging is harder than it looks, and most don’t last that long. I’m glad you’re here, though, and hope you’ll stay. Courage. Fragments work. Do.

  6. S. Le says:

    Excellent advise.
    Happy Bloggerversary!

  7. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Barefootheart! Glad you noticed my latest limerick. (They used to change weekly, but have tended to linger too long lately.) And you yourself are off to a good start. A month already!

    Thanks, Bobbie! I better go take a look at your meme. I mentally lump memes and awards together, and was at first surprised that you would participate in one. Unlumping device: on.

    Thanks, Livingisdetail! That all makes sense, what you say, especially about the self-flogging and the perceived dips in quality. To use a surfing analogy, there’d be no peaks without troughs, would there?

    Thanks, James! A couple of weeks ago I caught a documentary program whose premise was that, ever since 1849, California has attracted risk-taking people. Think there’s something to that theory?

    Thanks, Almostgotit! I’m glad you like my stuff. Even with the occasional sentence fragment.

    Thanks, S. Le! There was also “Neither a borrower nor a lender be” from Shakespeare, but that will have to wait for another entry.

  8. That quote actually sounds like the state of the world right now. I think we are all going through something.

    Happy Blogiversary!!!

    I wish you were able to post every day. You’re words are funny and often inspirational. Cheers to another great year ahead of you.

  9. lavenderbay says:

    Well I almost made it, Urban Thought. And apparently there were a few days on which I posted more than once, so the number of entries was big enough, at least.
    I hope you’re okay in your neck of the woods. See you in the ‘sphere!

Leave a Reply

