Steady As She Goes

With our new apartment rented for the first of April, we’re stepping up the final preparations for moving. Every time I turn around this week, I think of something else that I mustn’t forget. Mustn’t forget to wash the coats. Mustn’t forget to contact the phone company. Mustn’t forget to buy a mattress bag. Et cetera.

Last night then, I made a list of all those swirly imperatives, about 14 or 20 items. The dogs have been awake all day so far, watching me tackle the various tasks. It’s tricky. Because some items depend on the accomplishment of other items, a lot of chores get started and then have to wait for other jobs to catch up.

It is now a quarter to two in the afternoon on this busy day. I’ve accomplished one and-a-half tasks.

6 Responses to Steady As She Goes

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I’ve been behind on my reading and rather than starting at the bottom and working my way up (in the appropriate order) I read this first. I have one thing to say: I HATE moving. I’m dreading the day that W & I become famous or something of the like and we have to move where our fame brings us. That will be a day that I cry a lot. Moving is no fun. Too many boxes.

  2. lavenderbay says:

    Hi, Elizabeth! We have nearly 50 boxes packed now, and that’s after drastically reducing the contents of our two-bedroom apartment. I can only think what a nightmare it would be to empty a whole farmhouse!
    On the other hand, maybe you needn’t worry. It seems to me that a lot of famous people move to country properties, where they can get some peace and quiet. You already have the lifestyle!

  3. S. Le says:

    There’s always so much to do at the last minute when you move. Good luck to you!

  4. Sounds like we need to make a Gantt chart to help you keep track of all this stuff!

  5. Gina says:

    Tuffy and Mandy watch me all the time like that too. 🙂 I love it. lol

  6. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, S. Le. I’ll need it!

    I had to look that term up, James. Apparently the idea was first proposed in 1896 by a Polish economist, who called it a “harmonogram”. Isn’t that a nice term?

    Hi, Gina! When I’m at the computer, the pupsters are usually snoozing. They must know something’s up…

Leave a Reply

