A Day Without Nudibranchs is Like a Day Without Sunshine

"Any nudibranchs?" "Don't see any yet."

Well, hi, people.

This morning my e-mail program showed a “please moderate” comment for this blog — you know, the blog I thought I had deleted when I’d deleted my newer one, La Dulse Vita.

The “please moderate” message was spam; but when I went into my dashboard, I noticed “Where are you?” messages from several of you. Months after my last posting.

I’ve also had personal e-mails from two of you. Months after my last posting.

And, well, like… I miss you guys too, eh?

To answer your first concern, Life is good right now. There’s so much to tell you about my home life, and so much I would tell you about my work life if it wasn’t all confidential stuff.

One big problem on this end is that I’ve been so busy with unplugged activities, I’ve been checking my computer only about once a week. (Or for you techies, maybe “Windows Vista” says it all.)

So this morning, I dropped in to Laugh in the Sun and read Alyson Hill’s merry burblings all the way back to July! Her July 24th posting outlines a contest, which I’ve decided to adapt into a Welcome Back Giveaway — thanks for this post’s inspiration, Alyson!

Then I popped over to The Right Blue and there was a nudibranch. It’s pronounced “nudie brank”. If you’re unfamiliar with these gorgeous underwater creatures, you can go here for a summary of The Right Blue’s articles and photos of them.  I commented that a day without nudibranchs is like a day without sunshine — thanks for this post title’s inspiration, Bobbie!

Okay, now I must go play with the dogs, and locate and reinstall everyone’s names on my blogroll, and leave “I’m not dead after all” comments for my old pals on their blogs. But first, exclusive to the blogging community, here is…

THE GREAT CROCHET GIVEAWAY

If you are on my blogroll, please comment here before 2010, and I’ll send you a crocheted dishcloth before 2011! Up to three bloggers who aren’t already on my blogroll can enter the Giveaway as well. Once you’ve commented, we’ll get in touch by e-mail so I can have your address. Groovy? I’d love to hear from you.

18 Responses to A Day Without Nudibranchs is Like a Day Without Sunshine

  1. goodbear says:

    you’re back!
    i’ve missed you!

  2. Admin says:

    Oh, it’s so good to hear from you! I clapped when I saw your comment on my blog this morning. I hope we will hear from you more in future, too. Just start where you are, no need to back up — or at least, you can back up when and if you want, but the pressure is off that way. (that’s often what gets in the way of putting together photo albums, too! Start with most recent, etc…)

  3. What Goodbear said!!!!!

  4. I was surprised to find your comment this morning. So nice you’re back!

  5. S. Le says:

    Hey! Welcome back!! Long time!

  6. Hallelujah! I welcome you back, my hubby welcomes you back, my kitty welcomes you back. (We were worried.) Oh yeah, and of course the nudibranchs welcome your interest anew.

    Stay in touch, even if it is once a week or once a month. Just don’t disappear!

    (Now where’s my dishcloth??)

    Bobbie

  7. lolarusa says:

    Very happy to leave a comment, and glad to see you’re blogging again. No need to crochet me anything, though. You probably have enough to do.

  8. lavenderbay says:

    I’ve missed you too, Goodbear! Sent you a coupla photos, but didn’t know how to smallify them, so maybe your spam bucket caught ’em.

    Thanks, Admin — er, Almostgotit! Your advice should help keep me on track. We Virgos can get lost in the details…

    Hi, James! One dishcloth goin’ out to baja California! Can double as a carriage blanket for Trouble’s kitty bed.

    It’s good to hook up again, Barefootheart! (Wait a sec — is that a crocheter pun?)

    Yep, no see, S. Le! The forthcoming sees may not be daily, but I’ll figure out how to make them regular, at least.

    “Nudibranchs singing halelujah when I arrive at the gates. What’s your version of heaven?” Yes, Bobbie, I’ll try for weekly reports, at least. And maybe assign different days of the week for different bloggers, and read a week’s worth at a time? Howzat sound?

    Hi, Lolarusa! I realize there appears to be a discrepancy between “I’m too busy to write” and “I’ll crochet you a dishcloth”, but when I’m called in for a night shift I sit at an uncomputered desk and crochet for up to twelve hours, so the offer still stands.

  9. lolarusa says:

    “Confidential” work that involves twelve hours at a desk crocheting. Intriguing…

  10. lavenderbay says:

    I know, Lolarusa, can’t complain. I’m a security guard at the police station detention centre. At night I do my rounds every fifteen minutes, and for the other fourteen minutes I’m at my desk with a craft project.

  11. Seabrooke says:

    It’s fabulous to see you back online! I was delighted to discover your comment on my blog the other day. We’d all been hoping nothing untoward had befallen you guys, so it’s good to know you’ve simply been busy. Life, how it gets in the way of good blogging sometimes! 🙂 And then the longer you go without a post, the easier it is not to get back to it. I do hope we’ll see you about regularly, even if it is just once a week or so.

    (Whoops – typed this all out and seem not to have hit the “submit” button for some reason, so it’s just been sitting there in its browser tab waiting for me.)

  12. lavenderbay says:

    Aw, shucks, Seabrooke… I know, funny how I figure everyone would forget about me, but I know bloggers (The Aged Cat comes to mind) who have been greatly missed when they’ve left the keyboard. And it’s also funny how often I’ll say in a conversation, “I have a friend who…”, referring to someone I’ve never actually met in person! Blogging is neat, all right.
    Anyway, one dishcloth goin’ out to Seabrooke!

  13. Great to see you back to blogging. I’ll send you a side not about some follow-up to our previous conversation.

    I’m hoping your daily posts will inspire me to get back into it.

  14. lavenderbay says:

    Looking forward to hearing from you, UT! Not sure on this end about “daily” posts, but two or three a week should be doable. Is that enough inspiration for you?

  15. That is more than enough. Thank you.

  16. Alyson says:

    Here you are! I’ve been looking everywhere for you…and you weren’t even under the beanbag or hiding under the (small mountain of) fabric scraps in my sewing room! Phew! It’s so good to have you back!

    !!!!! &!

  17. lavenderbay says:

    Y’know, Alyson, I was just thinking this morning about putting a miniature beanbag under my Great Horned Owl to make him friendlier… what, I need to explain that remark? Soon.

  18. […] of a different pattern. Soon I’ll be e-mailing you, the blogfriends who responded to my Crochet Giveaway (plus Tony, who was on sabblogatical at the time), for your real-life addresses (or anonymous post […]

Leave a Reply

