High, Low, Medium-Slow


The scene of the crime.

“High, low, medium-slow, jolly-olly peppers”. That was a skipping song when I was a child a century ago. Whichever word you tripped on, you had to skip a prescribed number of steps with the rope swung viciously high, crampedly low, ordinarily, or breathlessly fast.

Today, “high” and “low” are most often prefixed to the particle “-tech”. Despite being a blogger, I generally prefer low-tech things, while E.g. enjoys high-tech gadgetry.

For example:

  • I buy water colour paints; E.g. buys camera equipment.
  • I buy a scratch pad; E.g. buys an i-pod Touch.
  • I buy a pair of hiking boots; E.g. buys a programmable eliptical machine.

I’m not saying these are bad things, and in fact E.g. uses all of her toys more frequently than I use any of mine. I’m just not enthralled by such items. (Plus I make less money.) Having little interest in them, I find myself as adept at techy advances as I once was at skipping.

My job was to keep the boys out of the rope.

I have succumbed to one advance: a cell phone. It’s indispensable in my current job, which has me on call 38% of the time, unless I never want to leave the house. So, since the Cardis haven’t learned to use the toilet, a cell phone I have.

Imagine my dismay, then, when I couldn’t find my cell phone’s recharger. Of all the different plugs and wires in the house, only one plug and wire could save my dying phone, but it was nowhere to be found.

“It was on the desk in the guest room, I’m sure that’s the last place I used it!” I wailed to E.g.

“Is there any place else it might be?”

“I looked on the shelf in the living room; I checked the drawer in the kitchen table; I dug through my bookbag; it isn’t anywhere!”

“Lemme check the glove compartment.” E.g. excels at finding new options.

Alas, the recharger wasn’t there either. Tomorrow I would be doomed to live the interior life.

The next morning, E.g. rose as early as a New Year’s resolution to use the eliptical trainer. She awoke me with a shout: “Oh, for heaven’s sake!”

I slung myself out of bed to see what was up. E.g. was pointing to our piece of gym equipment. Purchased a week ago, it works fine, except for a bit of plastic housing — follow the left outer arm down, and hang a sharp right — that squeaks.

In a brilliant blend of high and low tech, E.g. had solved the problem of the squeak: she had wrapped a rag around the housing, and secured the rag with the nearest thing to hand.

You guessed it.

Removing my phone charger from the eliptical apparatus, I juiced up my cell phone. For her part, E.g. decided that the squeak wasn’t so annoying after all.

7 Responses to High, Low, Medium-Slow

  1. Alyson says:

    LOL I’m the low-tech in our partnership too, and luckily the kids are ever increasingly high-tech, so now I’m lazy and low-tech “Kids! I can’t…” Those corgis are probably holding out on you ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. That’s just what MacGyver would have done!

  3. lavenderbay says:

    Alyson, the word isn’t “lazy”, it’s “empowering”. You are providing your children with opportunities for growth in teaching and management skills. (Boy, the money I could be making in PR…)
    As for the dogsters, with their weewees about six inches off the ground, I think toilet training would be precarious at best. I have heard of a corgi who, after watching his human daddy use the toilet, decided to use it too — hydrant-style, of course.

    E.g. had to explain the McGyver show to me, James. She was delighted with the comparison!

  4. S. Le says:

    Not sure I understand just how that worked but she gets a high mark for ingenuity.

  5. lavenderbay says:

    Here’s how it worked, S.Le:
    First E.g. wrapped the rag around the (cylindrical) housing, and then she grabbed my phone recharger and wrapped its wire around the rag, with the plug ending up on top. She also attaches her i-pod there, which rather resembles the recharger, making it harder for either of us to notice the sought-for object.

  6. So E.g. is the high-tech one, eh? And she used a rag and a phone charger cable to fix the squeak, eh? Heh heh. ๐Ÿ˜€

    My solution for always knowing where needed things are: choose ONE place where each should be stored and ALWAY return the item to its designated place immediately after each use, no matter what. Sounds tiresome, I know, but it works.

    My own version: I keep all of my gadget chargers in a basket on the corner of my desk that’s near an electrical outlet. Works great while I’m home. My problem arises when I travel. I love to have my gadgets with me, but packing (and then keeping track of) all of the chargers and related tidbits (camera synch cord, blue-tooth earpiece thingy, etc.) is a royal pain — especially in these days of strict limitations for carry-on baggage on planes.

  7. lavenderbay says:

    Guess we’re not completely contradiction-free, are we, Bobbie?
    My grandma lived by the saw, “A place for everything and everything in its place.” Me, I’m kind of a serial grandma, partly due to having lived in 18 homes over the 29 years of my adulthood. This nineteenth home, however, is a cute little house that’s just right and is owned, not rented, by E.g. and me, and I’m DAMNED if I’m gonna move again for a few decades, so it’s definitely time to implement grandma’s policy properly! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

