Net Worth

Just a bit of blibbity about what I’ve been doing on the Internet lately.

I. My First Red Dot.

I’ve been intrigued by those Clustrmaps that appear on so many of your blogs, and finally decided to get one for myself. It’s wa-ay at the bottom, under the latest award from Dennis the Vizsla. After 24 hours, a red dot has appeared! All the way from — wait for it — Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada, in Central Utopia*!!! Oh…wait…that’s here, where I live. Probably E.g. checking in from her workplace.

Moving right along…

II. Watch Commercials For Charity.

While I was rooting around in the Widget cellar, I noticed the one from Social Vibe, and decided to have a look-see. You choose a cause you’d like to support, then a favourite sponsor, and then you listen to half-a-dozen commercials and answer an innocuous question (or in one case, upload a photo) for each one. The commercials aren’t even by my chosen sponsor, so I don’t completely understand the deal, but anyway, the sponsors chip in some money to the cause in exchange for your time.

 I started by choosing the (American) Nature Conservancy. My six activities earned 32 pounds of Carbon Offset. At the end of the six activities, the web site asked if I wanted to offer my pointage to a second cause, so I chose Camfed, where I learned that my efforts were worth 10 days of school to an African girl. Well. Some research revealed that Carbon Offsets go for $15.50 (American) per metric tonne, while Morgan Freeman tells us that $5 will allow a girl in Zambia to attend her local school for a month. Yes, I did the math. My commercial-watching was worth $1.66 to Camfed but only 23 cents to the Conservancy.

In a later post, I’ll write a bit about Camfed.

Update, February 26: I clicked on the Social Vibe widget just now to repeat the activities — you can do that every few days, and make a few more points. Got to the end of the activities to see my “home page” or whatever it’s called, and instead of showing my name and pointage immediately, it hesitated a minute. Then, “Welcome, Pavel Motjevic!” appeared, and he or I had raised points for PETA. This unnerved me, so I’ve deleted the widget.

III. Use Your Computer and Get Paid.

Well, maybe; we’ll see.

E.g. sent me a link to a company that recruits Joe Surfers to assess web information. The link she sent was for a part-time job, 2-3 hours a week, looking at online maps and verifying driving directions. So I went onto the company’s web site and found a different job, one for people fluent in French to check out search engines for 10-20 hours a week. I applied to that one instead. If I’m going to be refused a job, I might as well be refused an interesting one. Je ne me retiens pas le souffle, mais j’aimerais bien ça travailler à la maison. (I’m not holding my breath, but I’d really like it if I could work from home.)

IV. Silver and Gold.

My good friend Dennis the Vizsla had to build the Doghouse of Justice to house all his awards, but they keep on coming. He keeps on passing them on, too. Good dog! Currently, I’ve got three that need to be handed out. This means that ALL of you will be getting a cupcake soon! That’s the gold: my longterm blogfriend.

I’ve added two new voices to my blogroll this month, those of Corve Da Costa and Anne Gibert. I’ll need to have a post of formal introductions soon. That’s the silver: new blogfriends.

And that’s all the news for now. Off to see a movie tonight. Ta-ta!

*Central Utopia: the middle of nowhere.

13 Responses to Net Worth

  1. I love the clustrmap thing too. Sounds like you’ve been making good use of your computer time.

  2. Alyson says:

    Where’s my red dot?

  3. My term for the middle of nowhere is always some variation of “Bumguat”. There’s Outer Bumguat, Inner Bumguat, Bumguat-By-The-Sea (very nice in winter) …

    Hope you get the interesting French job!

  4. lavenderbay says:

    I hope so, Barefootheart. Sure beats being woken out of a sound night’s sleep at 0200, anyway.

    It should be just south of Canberra, Alyson. I don’t get it either, yet; maybe the widget gets refreshed every 24 hours?

    Thanks, James! Your approbation means a lot to me on this still-mysterious form of employment.
    The head of our Anglican LGBT group in Toronto uses a very British parish-appropriate term, “Saint Swithins-in-the-Swamp.”

  5. livingisdetail says:

    Mysterious employment – that does sound great. 🙂

    Well,I don’t have a red dot either. This is looking like a trend. Maybe Clustrmap doesn’t know where we are in Australia or maybe, worse than that, we don’t know where we are. No, that’s too confusing.

  6. lavenderbay says:

    The Clustrmap must know where Australia is if they found Saint John, New Brunswick. Wait, Livingisdetail, maybe it’s because you two are nearly a day ahead, and it doesn’t know you’re there yet. If it doesn’t find you by the weekend, I’m boycotting it.

  7. livingisdetail says:

    You were right LB. Big, red dots on Australia now. Whoo hoo!

  8. lavenderbay says:

    Yes, Livingisdetail, the map looks much prettier now. 🙂

  9. Wait, I don’t see my dot. I’m out there in the middle of the Pacific — really I am. I just got back to Hawaii after a three week trip to the U.S. mainland, so maybe the dot hasn’t found me yet? I brought a wicked head cold back home with me, so maybe my red nose will show up on the map in a bit…

  10. lavenderbay says:

    Yes, Bobbie, if you squint just over the spot that appears to be sneezing… 😀
    The map takes 24 hours or so to refresh, so hopefully soon you’ll have your dot too.
    Hope you feel better soon!

  11. Aha! Today the Hawaii dot doth appear. 🙂

  12. Alyson says:

    So red dots are like starlight?

  13. lavenderbay says:

    I was excited when I saw it too, Bobbie!

    That’s a lovely thought, Alyson!

Leave a Reply

