(Wordless Wednesday) Deer, Deer

13 Responses to (Wordless Wednesday) Deer, Deer

  1. Anne Gibert says:

    It took a minute, but I found them both.

  2. Tony says:

    Deer oh deer it’s a wee bit foggy. I spotted all three of them.

  3. lavenderbay says:

    Good for you, Anne. That’s as many as I thought were in the photo. Read the response to Tony, if you’d like.

    Dang, you’re good, Tony! There were three White-tailed Deer croosing the City land when I dashed back inside for the camera. I could see only two of them by the time I got back. Your comment made me return to my photo program and zoom in, and sure enough… At the centrepoint of that smaller red roof that touches the field, there’s a brown doughnut shape: the rump of the third deer, who was descending the brow of the hill.
    The deerhead shape in the lower left of the photo is a clever decoy left by White-tails to confuse their predators. 😉

  4. There, there. Oh, and there.

  5. lavenderbay says:

    Observant and literate, James. I like that in a guy.

  6. Amazing how deer can live so close to our cities. I didn’t know you lived in the mountains.

  7. S. Le says:

    Lovely. We get them as well but don’t live in the city.

  8. S. Le says:

    BTW: Love your new banner.

  9. lavenderbay says:

    Not quite mountains, Barefootheart, but a heckuva lot of rock. That supermarket up the hill is built on a site where stone had been quarried, and almost looks as though it emerges from the cliff behind it. My son stopped to take photos when we pulled into the parking lot.

    I have a hard time even calling this place a city, S. Le, but then my previous experiences of urban life are Montreal and Toronto; Saint John has only 65,000 people.
    Glad you like my new banner! I din’t know how boring my old one was until I saw Tony’s blogroll page.

  10. lavenderbay says:

    …but no rays; too foggy.

  11. livingisdetail says:

    Oh deer! Gorgeous, and I want some in my backyard stat. Is that a train station I can see?

  12. lavenderbay says:

    The deer make better neighbours than houseguests, Livingisdetail; they polish off whatever people plant, and drain the birdfeeders too! If there’s a fenced paddock in your backyard, I’m sure a lot of Saint Johners would be willing to ship you a few. 😀
    The big building in the upper left is an Atlantic Superstore, a combination supermarket/drygoods store chain (owned by Loblaws). The one in front of it is some kind of manufactory for the building trade. Alas, the closest a passenger train comes to Saint John is ‘way over in Moncton, two hours from here!

Leave a Reply

