Quick Like a Bunny

Here’s a spot of colour for Easter: nine of the dish cloths I’ve been making for you.

They’ve been great fun to do up. I have a book, Basic Crochet Stitches: 250 Stitches to Crochet (ed. Erika Knight, Interweave Press, 2008), from which I’ve been working each dish cloth as a swatch of a different pattern. Soon I’ll be e-mailing you, the blogfriends who responded to my Crochet Giveaway (plus Tony, who was on sabblogatical at the time), for your real-life addresses (or anonymous post box numbers). Then little dishcloths will be winging their way through the mail, to land on kitchen sink taps in three different countries!

Just a few more to go.

17 Responses to Quick Like a Bunny

  1. Tony says:

    Looks like you’ve been very busy with the crochet hook. Nice colours, should be lovely when it’s finished

  2. Tony says:

    Oh Dishcloths, I just looked at the photos without reading properly. I at first thought they were squares that eventually all get sewn together to make a quilt. Silly me…

  3. What a fun splash of colour; beautiful!

  4. S. Le says:

    Beautiful colours and fine work! I agree with Tony. Those would make a fine quilt/afghan.

    ( Did you like the film Dazed and Confused in L.A?)

  5. lavenderbay says:

    Don’t feel silly, Tony. Zamadderafact, I have started an afghan called “tumbling blocks” that has a 3-D effect, and for this I need to do patches. I’ll have to post about it at some point.

    Thanks, Barefootheart! It is nice to see them all together.

    My blog klatsch is an afghan, S. Le, each voice unique, and all working in harmony.
    Haven’t seen Dazed and Confused, although I’ve been living that way for quite a while now. Is it a film about crochet? It’s about time someone made an interesting movie!

  6. Anne Gibert says:

    I don’t know why I have never been able to master crochet. I have knitted all my life.

    I love those pretty colors.

  7. lavenderbay says:

    Maybe you’ve answered your own question, Anne. Knitting is more versatile; and by the looks of some crochet magazines, I’ve been known to state that crochet is knitting for the aesthetically challenged. 🙂

  8. Alyson says:

    Clever-clogs: prettiest dishcloths ever!

  9. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Alyson! I really like variegated yarns.

  10. S. Le says:

    “Quick like a bunny” is a quote from Dazed and Confused in L.A. Sorry. Thought that’s where you got it. lol

  11. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, S. Le! It’s just a familiar phrase to me, but I have seen it used in a film — the badly-beaten robot scrawls it on a wall in one of the “Short Circuit” movies.

  12. pennycat says:

    Wow, they are beautiful Lavender. Our house has many colorful dishcloths that are knitted from Grandma, as well as crochet tablecloths, coasters, slippers and hats. Great job!!

  13. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Pennycat! My grandma both knitted and crocheted, including doilies and such with that fine thread that I’m utterly incapable of using. More aspirations, always more aspirations…

  14. livingisdetail says:

    Wow, they are lovely Lavenderbay. Very charming indeed.

  15. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Livingisdetail! And it’s raining here today, so I’ll take a break from landscaping and continue working on them.

  16. Seabrooke says:

    You’re doing great – they look fabulous! Can I put dibs on the one with the green on the left in the bottom photo? Or one like it? 🙂

  17. lavenderbay says:

    It’s yours, Seabrooke! One “Rover Stitch” dish cloth for the woods wanderer. How appropriate.

Leave a Reply

