Scripture Snippet Sunday, Brought to You by the Garden

I’ve studied enough of that amazing library known as the Bible to know that for just about every verse, there’s one diametrically opposed to it.  So I’m not here to preach. These are just a few photos paired with a few words, in hopes of evoking a little beauty, a spot of warmth, a bit of a smile. Enjoy.
%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

"Behold, thou art fair, my beloved..." -- Song of Solomon 1:16

"In my father's house are many mansions..." -- John 14:2

"Prepare the way of the Lord...in the wilderness..." -- Isaiah 40:3

"And he dreamed, and beheld a ladder set up on the earth, and the top
of it reached to heaven... -- Genesis 28:12

"Supposing him to be the gardener..." -- John 20:15

"Oh, that I had wings like a dove!" -- Psalm 55:6

16 Responses to Scripture Snippet Sunday, Brought to You by the Garden

  1. eyegillian says:

    Ooh, some wonderful photos here. I’m glad you found the slug on the composter, not the garden. I love the scripture you chose for my dad. And that close-up photo of the columbine is gorgeous — a superb shot — I’m impressed!

  2. lavenderbay says:

    Well, thank ye kindly, ma’am. That slug, longer than my forefinger, would probably span three of our beet seedlings. And I thought the passage from John appropriate for your dad, a highly respected member of the community, “disguised” in his schmatas and carrying a bucket of compost.

  3. That slug is looking very pale. I think it needs to get some sun.

  4. lavenderbay says:

    No need to get the magnifying glass out, James; no one’s gonna make you play your harp in a composter. (Herebelow, though, might be a different matter…)

  5. Anne Gibert says:

    The Bible is full of all sorts of things, one of them is poetry. Great photos.

  6. S. Le says:

    Such a lovely post. Beautiful photos. Beautiful scriptures. Perfect. Thank you!

  7. lavenderbay says:

    Hi, Anne! Yeah, Psalms and the Song of Songs really rock. Thanks for stopping by.

    Hi, S. Le! You’re welcome, I’m glad you enjoyed them.

  8. livingisdetail says:

    Beautiful photos and words lavenderbay. I love the slug photo too. I think you have captured a rare buckskin slug in the process of reading :).

  9. Alyson says:

    Lovely – that slug reminds me of the fellas in the animated movie “Flushed Away”, I bet if we get right up close we could hear him humming!

  10. lavenderbay says:

    Lol, Livingisdetail! Yes, and I think it must have graduated from a Speedreading course, because an hour later it was no longer there.

    Haven’t seen the film, Alyson, but I’ve just popped over to Youtube to see a trailer, and there was the slug at the end of it; quite a toothy chap, especially when it screamed. Not sure about the humming, but I hope the little fellas will go down singing happy songs if I need to set up beer traps in the salad garden.

  11. Tony says:

    Those photos are magnificent, thanks for sharing

  12. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Tony! I’m glad you like them. Four of them were shot in the same half-hour; I guess it was a lucky moment.

  13. Jayne says:

    Love the photos and the captions are so apt 🙂

  14. Wow, I’m impressed with your Biblical mastery.

  15. pennycat says:

    Awesome Lavender……enjoyed everything about it!!

  16. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Jayne! It was only recently that I learned that Columbine is so named because it’s thought to resemble a ring of doves in a friendly huddle; that may have clinched my decision to present these photos in this manner.

    Thanks, Barefootheart! I actually took nearly a Masters of Theological Studies (never got around to the thesis) at Trinity while we were living in Toronto. There’s nothing like a little mind-stretching, pocket-emptying study, is there? 🙂

    Thanks, Pennycat! I took a page from your Sunday photo-posts; glad you approve of my efforts.

Leave a Reply

