The Happiest Telephone Poles

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

17 Responses to The Happiest Telephone Poles

  1. Alyson says:

    The gorgeous colors of nature – they are breathtaking LB!

  2. Jayne says:

    Very pretty 🙂

  3. eyegillian says:

    Y’know, I’ve been there and seen the photos already, but I can’t help watching this slideshow over and over. Love it!

  4. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Alyson! I had to fiddle with my photo programme (Picassa) to bring out what I saw (as opposed to what my camera, whose favourite colour is grey, took). The “fin” photo is an exaggeration, but it’s how I would have painted it: I love strong, vibrant colours.

    Thanks, Jayne! I took dozens of photos of this stretch of highway; it was hard to choose which ones to post.

    Thanks, Eyegillian! This set of shots demanded a light, poetic touch. And with the slideshow, there’s no scrolling!

  5. Anne Gibert says:

    What lucky poles!

  6. lavenderbay says:

    Yes, Anne, and their lives are much less risky than those of masts.

  7. S. Le says:

    Lovely!

  8. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, S. Le! That’s the response I was hoping for, and not “Hallmark Moments! Run away!!!”

  9. Those poles have it better than I do.

  10. pennycat says:

    Wow, the pictures were awesome!

  11. Tony says:

    Amazing photography LB. I wish I lived in pole-land, it’s such a beautiful place

  12. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Pennycat! Being there was even more awesome; I couldn’t stop taking photos, trying to capture what I was experiencing.

    Thanks, Tony! Yep, gotta admire the poles; they’re the strong, silent type…

  13. starlaschat says:

    Great slide show. I think I’ll scroll up and watch it again. :+)

  14. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Starla! It was fun to make.

  15. livingisdetail says:

    Beautiful images, LB . There is such a sense of serenity there. Now I am left imagining who Peggy may have been.

  16. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Livingisdetail!
    Peggy may well have been St Margaret of Scotland; Peggy’s Cove is at the entrance of St Margaret’s Bay, and it’s believed that the village once known as Margaret’s Cove got pet-named Peggy’s Cove, until eventually the name stuck.
    There is someone, however, working up a legend that Peggy was the sole survivor of a shipwreck. All very romantic, including the picture book and set of three dolls for sale. (Insert eye-rolling emoticon here.)

Leave a Reply

