Audi, vide, tace

9 Responses to Audi, vide, tace

  1. I had no idea Audi sponsored archways.

  2. lavenderbay says:

    It’s really sad how corporate logoism has crept into every corner of our lives, isn’t it, James?

  3. eyegillian says:

    Impressive window, but not much in the way of a view. I wonder if there used to be a garden there?

  4. lavenderbay says:

    My impression is it was once a side doorway, Eyegillian, but I’m not sure; we’ll have to peek again next time we’re on that street. And I would guess that the church property the arch faces is older than it, so probably no garden there.
    I do think, though, that the timeless green woodsiness on the right side of this photo provides an interesting context for the ancient Roman message.

  5. S. Le says:

    “Audi, vide, tace, si vis vivere in pace”, Hear, see, be silent, if you would live in peace. 1855, Scottish Rite

    Yeah, I Googled it.

    Lovely old building.

  6. lavenderbay says:

    And S. Le is our new winner! *Ding ding ding*
    After googling it myself, I described the proverb to my mum over the phone as “Listen up, look up, and shut up” et cetera. Or, as Thumper’s mum taught him, “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.”

  7. Tony says:

    I think it’s Latin for “Don’t look in my bedroom window pervert”

  8. S. Le says:

    I like your Mum’s translation better. She could have her own Wiki page!

  9. lavenderbay says:

    Especially since the other side of the fence is the front yard of the most “respectable” Anglican church in town.

    After a brief fling with one, Mum learned to Just Say No to computers. But she’s some smart nevertheless.

Leave a Reply

