That Was Some Storm

If you’re a regular reader, you may have noticed the neighbours’ White Pine in some of my photographs. At the bottom of this pic runs the top of the four-foot-high chainlink fence.

Well, I don’t want to brag or anything, but we got quite the storm last night. High winds, lots of snow, and a bit of rain added to the mix.

The waves from the rain reached only to the middle of the windows. Here on the driveway side, that’s a mere two metres. The wet stuff came and went around midnight, with more snow on top of it.

After my tea this morning, I went outside to inspect. Even the White Pine was surprised at how much snow we got:

21 Responses to That Was Some Storm

  1. Seabrooke says:

    Heeheehee. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Tony McGurk says:

    I am looking at the big tree in the centre of the 1st photo. Surely that is not the one with the tip just sticking out??? I am slowly trying to catch up with my blog reading. My Google reader is chock-a-block with unread posts. 233 to be precise. I think I will have to just read each persons latest or I will never get through them all.

  3. Glad you survived to tell the tale.

  4. lavenderbay says:

    Sometimes ideas come together so nicely, Seabrooke. Besides, assembling this entry bought me ten more minutes of not shoveling.

    And here I am posting three times more than usual this week, Tony! My apologies. I’ll try to do worse.
    All three photos were taken this morning. The White Pine has been dropping needles all winter, but not such a big clump of them before last night. Seeing that sprig sticking straight up out of the snow, I thought it looked like a treetop, and my Tall Tale developed from there.

    Thankyouthankyouthankyou Jaynejaynejayne!

    One of my favourite Irish songs, Barefootheart, is “The Irish Rover”. Bet you’re not surprised!

  5. Binky says:

    Now that’s a storm!

  6. Alyson says:

    I…I…

    I can’t even get my head around that one Turtle!!

  7. lavenderbay says:

    It really was a stinker, Binky. We got the full 30 centimetres, and the bit of rain, which made not only for heavy shoveling but for unshovelable driveway ends where the passing plough left thigh-high walls of ice boulders! But the results as stated above may have been a bit exaggerated…

    The morning after the storm, Alyson, as we were helping E.g.’s dad shovel out his driveway, I asked him if he sometimes misses Auckland. Although he grew up there, he’s been living in Saint John since getting married 50-odd years ago. Nevertheless, he laughed and answered, “Yes.”

  8. S. Le says:

    Wow! We’ve had a bit of a rough winter as well but not like yours!

  9. lavenderbay says:

    I like learning new things as much as the next person, S. Le, but if I’d known I would have to learn to dynamite snowbanks in order to park, I might have decided not to move to New Brunswick.

  10. livingisdetail says:

    It was a wild and woolley night…very funny ending to the tale LB. No wonder our huntsman haven’t packed their little suitcases for Canada. Of course, if they start to knit their own jumpers, well…

  11. Novroz says:

    I wonder can I survive in that snow. It’s 24 degree Celsius now in my country and I already feel so cold.

    When you wear thick jacket, is it totally warm or you can still feel the cold?

  12. lavenderbay says:

    Oh wow, Livingisdetail, large, hairy, sticky spiders! They might make even me hesitate. Glad you enjoyed today’s story.

    To save money on heating costs, we’ve had the thermostats set at about 19 degrees all winter, Novroz. We wear a lot of sweaters and drink lots of hot tea! I think 20 or 21 is more common for indoor heating.
    Wind velocity and air humidity influence a person’s perception of cold. As I type this, it is snowing heavily, and gusts of 40-55 km/hr are whirling the snow around. This is the worst time to go outside not only because of the wind, but because the snow will hit your face and melt — brr! And if you wear glasses, they will be wet and you’ll have to walk more slowly and be outside longer before you reach your destination… bleah!

  13. Binky says:

    Cold glasses are the worst! Especially when it’s -30 or so with the windchill and the glasses freeze the bridge of your nose off.

  14. Novroz says:

    @Binky There are times when it reachs -30 degree? wow, I can’t imagine how cold is that!

    @Lavenderbay termostat at 19-21 … That’s still too cold. The average AC temperature here is 18-26 degree, 18 is for room that full of people and that is already too cold for me.

  15. lavenderbay says:

    I fondly remember cross-country skiing a short but difficult trail, Binky. The exertion to climb a slope would fog my glasses, and then the plummet down the other side would clear them just before arriving at the next turn. Luckily the fog didn’t have a chance to freeze. Ah, youth…

    Here’s an idea, Novroz: Next February, let’s exchange homes for a month! (Bwa-ha-ha-ha…)

  16. Binky says:

    @Novroz Zero degrees without a wind is not really very cold. It can be nice for a walk. When it gets to -10 or -15, then that can be quite cold. But it’s really the wind that makes it very cold if your face isn’t properly covered. It can get to -20 with the windchill, or even -30 once in a while. Luckily not very often.

    Keeping active is a great way to keep the cold at bay!

  17. Tony McGurk says:

    We don’t get that sort of low temps here in Tasmania. I just can’t imagine -30. That is the temperature setting of our freezer

  18. lavenderbay says:

    Out west in the prairie provinces it’s even colder, Tony. I was conceived in Saskatoon (my parents had the good sense to move back to southern Ontario before I was born)which this winter has had nine days of temperatures of minus 30 or more before factoring in the wind chill. THAT’S cold!
    I haven’t checked the stats for our territories in the Far North — I just don’t wanna know…

  19. Novroz says:

    Hehehe would you stand the humidity in Indonesia?

  20. lavenderbay says:

    Oh, darn, there’s always a catch! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

