(Wordless Wednesday) Forsooth

17 Responses to (Wordless Wednesday) Forsooth

  1. *singing* little signs are everywhere!

  2. lavenderbay says:

    They sure are, Stephanie! We moved here in September, and sometime before the snow flew I excavated this forsythia from where it had been jammed against the house and plopped it here on the front corner — and DIDN’T MANAGE TO KILL IT!!! What could be a nicer message of Spring than that?

    Son of Seth. In Cabbagetown where we lived for a decade, there’s an annual Forsythia Festival, so this was one shrubbery I actually could name at the time. I like to call it a “forsoothia”.

  3. S. Le says:

    I have a clump of “forsooth” bushes. They were beautiful this year. I’ve got to remember that name.

  4. lavenderbay says:

    I’m glad you like “forsoothia”, S. Le. It has a nice anglophilic feel with that Shakespearean connotation, doesn’t it?

  5. Alyson says:

    Look at that we’ve finally arrived at the same moment in time! My autumnal maples are looking exactly the same 🙂

  6. livingisdetail says:

    What a lovely plant indeed LB. She waits by the step to greet you. I agree with Alyson, she does look Autumnal.

  7. lavenderbay says:

    Oh my goodness, Australia, cue the Twilight Zone theme!
    The interesting thing about Forsythia is that it blossoms before it leafs, which is why there’s no green on that shrub.
    I never thought about the bush being a She. Should we name her? Would a flowing name, such as Althea, suit her better, or should we balance her species with a shorter, more sensible name? “Vicar, I’d like you to meet our Forsythia bush, Joan.”

  8. I’ve never heard of them before but you did well to move it without killing it.

  9. Tony says:

    Oops… I was still logged in as Dixie from a comment she left somewhere last night

  10. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Dixie/Tony! Forsythia can grow to nearly twice my height, so this one really did need transplanting. I’m learning a lot about gardening, now that I finally have some property of my own.

  11. Alyson says:

    I like Joan…JOan Forsythia sounds right to me.

  12. lavenderbay says:

    Okay, Alyson, “Joan” she is!

  13. livingisdetail says:

    Joan is perfect! If she had a sister, Fiona springs to mind. She could be Fi Forsythia. 😀

  14. lavenderbay says:

    It would be very easy to verbally wag my finger at those two when they’re being naughty, wouldn’t it, Livingisdetail? “Forsooth, Joan! Fie, Fi Forsythia!” Their brother and uncle, Sooth and Seth, would probably smarten up at the same time to avoid similar tongue lashings.
    Wow, all this nonsense from one yellow-blossomed bush!

  15. Growing up, I thought the bush was called For Cynthia and always thought Cynthia was lucky to have such a pretty shrub named for her.

  16. lavenderbay says:

    That’s funny! But wait…isn’t there a Sheridan Nurseries in Ontario? Somebody I know gets the whole garden, shrubs, annuals, perennials and all!

Leave a Reply

