Happies Birthdays

fergus
Fergus, in tinier days.

While the Ides of March may not have been a happy occasion for Julius Caesar, it’s a wonderful day for Turtle: her partner and her younger puppy were both born on March 15th.

who are you lookin' at?
Ten-week-old Fergus adoring his mummy E.g.

Fergus is one year old today, and E.g. is… well… old enough to have seen Topo Gigio’s debut on the Ed Sullivan Show (although of course, so am I; we’re only six months apart in age).

floppy puppy
Fergus at four months, lounging on E.g.’s ankle.

In preparing for our long-distance move, we’ve been working hard to improve our Cardis’ manners. Sometimes I despair that Fergus will never “get it”, even though I know that two-and-a-half-year-old Cai was older than Fergus before he settled down on leash. I’m much more philosophic about training E.g.; she’s had as many decades to form ingrained habits as I have.

I hopped in all by myself
Post-pinecone Fergus presents his papasan-hopping prowess to his proud mum.

Despite his mischievous ways, however, Fergus has one big thing over both Cai and Cuca: he loves to cuddle. He snuggles right in, and loves to be fussed over. (The photo below isn’t the best proof of this, but it’s the best one I can find. The other is possibly still lurking in the backup hard-drive thingy.)


E.g. holding her snugglepuppy, with Cai and Cuca at her feet.

Happy birthday, you two! Many happy returns.

9 Responses to Happies Birthdays

  1. goodbear says:

    happy birthday to e.g. and fergus!

  2. Happy Happy Birthday Birthday E.G and Fergus.

  3. Sorry, I can’t read the rest, I’m still staring at that first adorable puppy picture …

  4. Alyson Hill says:

    Happy Happy, lovely people and puppies! Hip Hip Hooray!

  5. S. Le says:

    Very cute photos!

  6. Elizabeth says:

    Fergus pup = so cute I want to eat ’em right up!!

    Happy B-day Fergus & E.G.!

  7. eyegillian says:

    Well, gee, thanks for all the birthday wishes, friends! You are all invited to my BIG birthday bash in a couple of years when I turn 50. And Fergus will invite all his dog friends, too. (Might be interesting coming up with party games for both species, but I expect playing and eating will just about cover it.)

  8. Happy birthdays from me, too.

  9. lavenderbay says:

    Thanks, Bobbie! I’ll let them know.

Leave a comment